Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2012

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Pulmonary Vascular Disease and Right Ventricular Dysfunction: Current Concepts and Future Therapies (S1)

Organizer(s) Georg Hansmann, Stephen L. Archer and Margaret R. MacLean
September 10—15, 2012
Portola Hotel & Spa • Monterey, CA USA
Abstract Deadline: Jun 7, 2012
Late Abstract Deadline: Jun 21, 2012
Scholarship Deadline: Jun 7, 2012
Early Registration Deadline: Jul 10, 2012

Sponsored by Bayer USA Foundation

Summary of Meeting:
Pulmonary arterial hypertension (PAH) is characterized by progressive obliteration of pulmonary arterioles leading to increased pulmonary vascular resistance, right heart failure and death in 40-60% of PAH patients five years after diagnosis. Proliferation, migration and resistance to apoptosis of vascular cells, as well as proliferative-inflammatory responses mediated by blood and fat cells, contribute to disease development. Despite more than 15 published randomized controlled trials (RCT) that demonstrated moderate effectiveness in improving exercise capacity, the approved PH drugs have not led to a cure. Hence, basic science and translational research focusing on the discovery of novel pathways in pulmonary vascular disease and right ventricular dysfunction, new drug targets, development of novel therapeutic paradigms, cell-based and pharmacotherapies, and their translation into RCTs, is urgently needed. This Keystone Symposia meeting will gather basic and clinical researchers working in the field of pulmonary vascular disease and right ventricular dysfunction. The focus is on basic science with strong impact on 1) our understanding of this fatal disease and 2) discoveries with great potential to be translated into clinical practice in the near future. Late-breaking clinical studies on novel PAH therapies will also be presented.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Izabela M. Chrobak
Boston University School of Medicine, USA

Liam Andrew Hurst
University of Cambridge, Addenbrooke's Hospital,, UK

Kirsty M. Mair
University of Glasgow, UK

Lin Piao
University of Chicago, USA

Simon C. Rowan
Conway Institute, Ireland

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Ancillary Training Program Scholarship Recipients

Harry Karmouty-Quintana
University of Texas Health Science Center, USA