Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2012

Here are the related meetings in 2020:
Why So Many Ways to Die? Apoptosis, Necroptosis, Pyroptosis and Beyond (T3)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Cell Death Pathways: Beyond Apoptosis (X4)

Organizer(s) Serge Przedborski and Richard J. Youle
March 19—24, 2012
Fairmont Banff Springs • Banff, AB Canada
Abstract Deadline: Nov 17, 2011
Late Abstract Deadline: Dec 21, 2011
Scholarship Deadline: Nov 17, 2011
Early Registration Deadline: Jan 19, 2012

Sponsored by Abbott Laboratories, Astellas Pharma Inc. and Genentech, Inc.

Summary of Meeting:
Mounting evidence indicates that cell death in diseases results from complex interactions between molecular mechanisms taking place within the degenerating cells (cell-autonomous) and outside the degenerating cells (non-cell autonomous). At the cross roads of these diverse signaling pathways are found the mitochondria which, through proper mitochondrial dynamics and regulated mitochondrial elimination by autophagy (i.e., mitophagy), play a crucial role in maintaining the well-being of the cells. This meeting will focus on the general mechanisms of cell death including the Bcl-2 family and caspase proteases, the role of mitochondrial dynamics and mitophagy, the usefulness of bioinformatics to unravel death-pathways, the contribution of non-cell autonomous mechanisms to cell death and the therapeutic strategies to protect against cell death. Opportunities for interdisciplinary interactions will be significantly enhanced by the concurrent meeting on Mitochondrial Dynamics and Function, which will share a keynote address and two plenary sessions with this meeting.

View Meeting Program


National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) Scholarship Recipients

Aungkana Krajarng
Thammasat University, Thailand

Scott R. McComb
National Research Council of Canada, Canada

John R. Mills
McGill University, Canada

Sho Morioka
North Carolina State University, USA

Sonia Muliyil
Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, India