Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2012

Here are the related meetings in 2020:
Mitochondrial Biochemistry in Health and Disease (Z1)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Mitochondrial Dynamics and Function (X3)

Organizer(s) Luca Scorrano and Jodi Nunnari
March 19—24, 2012
Fairmont Banff Springs • Banff, AB Canada
Abstract Deadline: Nov 17, 2011
Late Abstract Deadline: Dec 21, 2011
Scholarship Deadline: Nov 17, 2011
Early Registration Deadline: Jan 19, 2012

Sponsored by Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Limited

Summary of Meeting:
Mitochondria are no longer considered “only” as the cellular thermodynamic converter: mounting evidence implicates them as key organelles in cell signaling, proliferation, aging, disease and death. Indeed, our view of this organelle was profoundly altered with the discovery that mitochondria function within a connected network that is continuously remodeled by fusion and division events. This reality has sparked and accelerated new scientific discoveries through the intersection of different fields about the functional roles and molecular features of mitochondrial behaviors. The interaction between the cell death and mitochondrial dynamics fields is the best example of such interplay and has led to the discovery that modulators governing cell death and mitochondrial dynamics, respectively, are in fact interacting with one another. This Keystone Symposia meeting uniquely builds on this rich interdisciplinary interaction, which continues to provide novel insights into the mechanisms underlying mitochondrial behavior and mitochondrial-associated diseases. Opportunities for interdisciplinary interactions will be significantly enhanced by the concurrent meeting on Cell Death Pathways: Beyond Apoptosis, which will share a keynote address and two plenary sessions with this meeting.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Pénélope Andreux
Amazentis, Switzerland

Ghazaleh Ashrafi
Harvard University, USA

Kirstin Diana Elgass
La Trobe University, Australia

David F. Kashatus
University of Virginia, USA

Elisa Motori
University of Bologna, Italy

Nuno Raimundo
University Medical Center Goettingen, Germany

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Scholarship Recipients

Hyungsoo Kim
Sanford-Burnham Medical Research Institute, USA

Christine Ott
University of Würzburg, Germany