Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2012

Here are the related meetings in 2021:
Harnessing the Microbiome for Disease Prevention and Therapy - RESCHEDULING IN PROGRESS (J4)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

The Microbiome (Q8)

Organizer(s) Andrew T. Gewirtz, Fergus Shanahan and Ruth E. Ley
March 4—9, 2012
Keystone Resort • Keystone, CO USA
Abstract Deadline: Nov 3, 2011
Late Abstract Deadline: Dec 8, 2011
Scholarship Deadline: Nov 3, 2011
Early Registration Deadline: Jan 5, 2012

Supported by the Directors' Fund

Summary of Meeting:
Emerging themes from several traditionally disparate areas of research have begun to coalesce around the concept that the complex microbial communities that inhabit most external human surfaces play a key role in health and disease. Specifically, processes including basic immune system development, host-pathogen interactions, metabolic disease and cancer are all greatly influenced by the composition and bioactivity of the microbiota that live within us. Understanding how mammalian hosts regulate their microbiota and the myriad of ways by which the microbiota can alter susceptibility to a wide range of diseases is a key opportunity to better understand numerous diseases and, subsequently, provide strategies to promote human health. Thus, the goal of the Keystone Symposia meeting on The Microbiome is to facilitate the understanding of mechanisms that maintain a healthy host-microbiota relationship and explore how perturbations in this relationship increase susceptibility to a variety of diseases, especially those associated with chronic inflammation. Opportunities for interdisciplinary interactions will be significantly enhanced by the concurrent meeting on Innate Immunity: Sensing the Microbes and Damage Signals, which will share a keynote address and three plenary sessions with this meeting.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Angela C. Poole
Cornell University, USA

Vanessa K. Ridaura
Google, USA

Susan Robertson
University of Toronto, Canada

Simone S. Stahringer
University of Colorado, Boulder, USA

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)/National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) Scholarship Recipients

Laure Bindels
Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium

Julia Bollrath
University of Oxford, UK

Eran Elinav
Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel

Nobuhiko Kamada
University of Michigan, USA

Alice P. Liou
Massachusetts General Hospital, USA

Rajat Madan
University of Cincinnati, USA

Matthew C. Ross
Baylor College of Medicine, USA