Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2012

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Drug Discovery for Protozoan Parasites (J1)

Organizer(s) Norman C. Waters, Frederick S. Buckner and Vicky M. Avery
January 15—20, 2012
Santa Fe Community Convention Center • Santa Fe, NM USA
Abstract Deadline: Sep 19, 2011
Late Abstract Deadline: Oct 19, 2011
Scholarship Deadline: Sep 19, 2011
Early Registration Deadline: Nov 15, 2011

Part of the Keystone Symposia Global Health Series, Supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Summary of Meeting:
Hundreds of millions of people world-wide are infected each year with protozoan parasites. The mortality and morbidity associated with these diseases are expected to increase due to the development of drug resistant parasites, the absence of adequate vaccines and a shortage of anti-protozoan agents in the drug development pipelines. Understanding the pathogenesis, mechanisms of growth and differentiation, and metabolic processes of the parasites has provided new insights and challenges in the identification of novel drug targets for malaria, leishmaniasis and trypanosomiasis. Integrated strategies combining target identification and validation with advances in structural biology, genetic manipulations and high-throughput high-content screening platforms are likely to accelerate the development of anti-protozoan drugs. This conference is the only international meeting that addresses the development of drugs to treat and prevent parasite infections. Parasitologists, chemists, pharmacologists and clinicians from academia, government and industry will come together to discuss opportunities for the advancement of novel anti-protozoan chemotypes and progression of lead compounds into clinical development. Opportunities for interdisciplinary interactions will be significantly enhanced by the concurrent meeting on Fungal Pathogens: From Basic Biology to Drug Discovery, which will share a keynote address and two plenary sessions with this meeting.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Global Health Travel Award Recipients, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation Recipients

Anjan Debnath
University of California, San Francisco, USA

Stephen J. Goldfless
Juno Therapeutics, USA

Leah S. Imlay
Washington University in St. Louis, USA

Rebecca Davis Sandlin
Vanderbilt University, USA

Geoffrey H. Siwo
University of Notre Dame, USA

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Ancillary Training Program Scholarship Recipients

Laura M. Sanchez
University of California, Santa Cruz, USA

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Alyson Auliff
Australian Army Malaria Institute, Australia

Sumit Rathore
All India Institute of Medical Sciences, India

Keystone Symposia Global Health Travel Award Recipients, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Hoseah Miima Akala
Kenya Medical Research Institute, Kenya

Berenger Aristide AKO
Institut Pasteur de Cote d'Ivoire, Côte D'Ivoire

Rosa M. Andrade
University of California, San Diego, USA

Olufunsho Awodele
University of Lagos-Nigeria, Nigeria

Marcele Fontenelle Bastos
Universidade Estadual de Campinas, Brazil

Denise da Gama Jaén Batista
Oswaldo Cruz Institute - Oswaldo Cruz Foundation, Brazil

Sheick Oumar Coulibaly
University of Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso

Vilma G. Duschak
CONICET - Instituto Nacional de Parasitologia, Dr. Mario Fatala Chaben, Argentina

Ifeoma Chinwude Ezenyi
National Institute for Pharmaceutical Research and Development, Nigeria

Rafaela Salgado Ferreira
São Carlos Physics Institute, Brazil

Sandipan Ganguly
National Institute of Cholera & Enteric Diseases, India

Paulo M. M. Guedes
Bioscience Center, Brazil

Fang Huang
National Institute of Parasitic Diseases, China CDC, China

Ezekiel Olugbenga Iwalewa
Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria

Krittikorn Kümpornsin
Mahidol University, Thailand

Tiago Antonio de Oliveira Mendes
Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, Brazil

Leah Mwai Wanjiru Mwai
KEMRI-Wellcome Trust Research Programme, Kenya

Esteban Andres Panozzo Zenere
IQUIR (Chemistry Institute of Roosario), Argentina

Wichai Pornthanakasem
National Center for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, Thailand

Lalasoanirina Ranaivoarison Ranarivelo
Centre National d'Application des Recherches Pharmaceutiques, Madagascar

Fabian E. Saenz
Pontificia Universidad Catolica del Ecuador, Ecuador

Eliziária Cardoso Santos
Federal University of Viçosa, Brazil

Addmore Shonhai
Phillips-Marburg University, Germany

Warangkhana Songsungthong
National Center for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, Thailand

Sujatha Sunil
International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, India

Teklu Kiros Woldegebriel
National Yang-Ming University, Taiwan