Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2012

Here are the related meetings in 2021:
MEETING CHANGE TO VIRTUAL: Diabetes: Many Faces of the Disease (J6)
Diabetes: Many Faces of the Disease (EK18)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Pathogenesis of Diabetes: Emerging Insights into Molecular Mechanisms (J8)

Organizer(s) Alan D. Attie, Christopher B. Newgard and Philipp E. Scherer
January 29—February 3, 2012
Santa Fe Community Convention Center • Santa Fe, NM USA
Abstract Deadline: Sep 29, 2011
Late Abstract Deadline: Nov 1, 2011
Scholarship Deadline: Sep 29, 2011
Early Registration Deadline: Nov 29, 2011

Sponsored by Pfizer Inc. and MedImmune

Summary of Meeting:
This meeting will focus on genetic, epigenetic and biochemical mechanisms underlying the pathogenesis of diabetes. New methods, particularly proteomics and the ability to interrogate protein modifications (phosphorylation, acetylation, methylation) on a large scale, are providing a new window into the pathological processes in type 2 diabetes. Other emerging themes are the CNS control of metabolism, the role of the microbiome in regulating metabolism, and transdifferentiation of cells in the endocrine pancreas in the adaptive response to obesity and insulin resistance. The strength of this meeting lies in the interdisciplinary nature of these topics. Pathogenesis of Diabetes: Emerging Insights into Molecular Mechanisms is held jointly with a the Keystone Symposia meeting on Genetic and Molecular Basis of Obesity and Body Weight Regulation, an obvious match with any conference devoted to type 2 diabetes; for example, adipose tissue function is dramatically changed in obesity, and adipocytes and adipose tissue immune cells produce proteins that modulate insulin signaling.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Denise E. Lackey
University of California, San Diego, USA

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Ancillary Training Program Scholarship Recipients

Dequina Angelina Nicholas
Loma Linda University, USA

Lyda L. Williams
Albert Einstein College of Medicine, USA

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)/National Institute on Aging (NIA) Scholarship Recipients

Pontus Boström
Dana Farber Cancer Institute, Harvard Medical School, USA

Banumathi K. Cole
Eastern Virginia Medical School, USA

Isin Dalkilic-Liddle
Massachusetts General Hospital, USA

Xunshan Ding
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, USA

Nicole Ehrhardt
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, USA

Jessica Ann Hall
Brigham and Women's Hospital, USA

Kristina Hellberg
The Salk Institute for Biological Studies, USA

Arulmozhi D. Kandasamy
University of Alberta, Canada

Janine Krüger
Center for Cardiovascular Research (CCR), Germany

Licht Rihito Miyamoto
Institute of Biomedical Sciences, Tokushima University, Japan

Brent A. Penque
Indiana University School of Medicine, USA

Nuno Rocha
Institute of Metabolic Science, University of Cambridge, UK

Nicole H. Rogers
The Scripps Research Institute-Florida, USA

Wan Shen
University of North Carolina at Greensboro, USA

Qin Yang
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, USA

Jun Yoshino
Washington University School of Medicine, USA

The Barrie Hesp Scholarship on behalf of Ashley Rebecca Cukier Scholarship Recipients

Ruchi Jain
Institute of Metabolic Physiology, Germany

Ahmed Kablan
National Institutes of Health, USA