Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2012

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Protein-RNA Interactions in Biology and Disease (C1)

Organizer(s) Thomas Tuschl, Mikiko C. Siomi and Gideon Dreyfuss
March 4—9, 2012
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza Hotel • Santa Fe, NM USA
Abstract Deadline: Nov 2, 2011
Late Abstract Deadline: Dec 8, 2011
Scholarship Deadline: Nov 2, 2011
Early Registration Deadline: Jan 5, 2012

Supported by the Directors' Fund

Summary of Meeting:
Cellular functions depend on numerous protein-coding and noncoding RNAs and the RNA-binding proteins (RBPs) associated with them, which form ribonucleoprotein complexes (RNPs). Mutations that disrupt either the RNA or protein components of RNPs or the factors required for their assembly can be deleterious. The discovery of disease-causing mutations in RNAs or their interacting RBPs not only adds to our growing understanding of RNA biology and chemistry, but also offers new therapeutic targets and contributes to ongoing efforts in developing mRNA-targeting antisense and RNAi therapeutics. This meeting focuses on a general understanding of post-transcriptional gene regulation and how perturbation of complex networks of RNA-protein and RNA-RNP interactions triggers disease.

View Meeting Program


KS/ABRCMS Travel Award Recipients

Elizabeth L. Johnson
Cornell University, USA

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Ancillary Training Program Scholarship Recipients

David S. Booth
University of California San Francisco, USA

Philamer C. Calses
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, USA

Stephanie C. Huelga
University of California, San Diego, USA

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)/National Institute on Aging (NIA) Scholarship Recipients

Pooja M. Desai
Emory University School of Medicine, USA

Ram Kannan
Stowers Institute For Medical Research, USA

Shuo-Chien Ling
National University of Singapore, Singapore

Cara L. Lunn
Washington University School of Medicine, USA

Masahiro Morita
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, USA

Ashley T. Neff
Colorado State University, USA

Aymeric Ravel-Chapuis
University of Ottawa, Canada

Marion Scheibe
Max Planck Institute for Biochemistry, Germany