Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2012

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Gene Silencing by Small RNAs (B1)

Organizer(s) Richard W. Carthew and Olivier Voinnet
February 7—12, 2012
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver • Vancouver, BC Canada
Abstract Deadline: Oct 6, 2011
Late Abstract Deadline: Nov 10, 2011
Scholarship Deadline: Oct 6, 2011
Early Registration Deadline: Dec 14, 2011

Supported by the Directors' Fund

Summary of Meeting:
The impact of small non-coding RNAs has profoundly touched the fields of development and cell biology, functional genomics, human disease and drug therapy. This mode of gene regulation is not restricted to eukaryotes; bacteria utilize small RNAs, notably those made from CRISPR loci that silence the expression of bacteriophages, transposons and plasmids. There are still many gaps in our knowledge of the mechanisms used by small RNAs, particularly newly discovered RNAs. It has become clear that this field of study needs an annual forum to enable rapid dissemination of new discoveries between researchers. Overall, the goals of this proposed meeting are: (1) to foster the scientific development of junior investigators by promoting their interaction with established investigators, and (2) to allow for mixing and sharing of ideas between biochemists, molecular biologists, geneticists and systems biologists working in the field. We hope this will synergize ideas and method breakthroughs in small RNA mechanisms.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Juan Guillermo Betancur
University of Tokyo, Japan

Steven G. Chaulk
University of Alberta, Canada

Jennifer L. Clancy
John Curtin School of Medical Research, Australia

Ahilya Nirvana Sawh
Goodman Cancer Research Centre, McGill University, Canada

Alejandro Vasquez-Rifo
University of Massachusetts Medical School, USA

Edze Westra
Wageningen University, Netherlands

Julia Winter
University of Regensburg, Germany

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Ancillary Training Program Scholarship Recipients

Tabari Baker
Georgetown University, USA

Jasmine Perez
Mount Sinai School of Medicine, USA

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) Scholarship Recipients

Masashi Abe
University of Pennsylvania, USA

Emily Knouf
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, USA

Roy L. Maute
Ab Initio Biotherapeutics, USA

Jillian S. Shapiro
Mount Sinai School of Medicine, USA

Deepankar Pratap Singh
IBENS, Department of Biology, France