Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2012

Here are the related meetings in 2020:
Noncoding RNAs: Mechanism, Function and Therapies (A1)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Non-Coding RNAs (Z1)

Organizer(s) John S. Mattick, Jeannie T. Lee and Kevin V. Morris
March 31—April 5, 2012
Snowbird Resort • Snowbird, UT USA
Abstract Deadline: Nov 30, 2011
Late Abstract Deadline: Jan 5, 2012
Scholarship Deadline: Nov 30, 2011
Early Registration Deadline: Jan 30, 2012

Supported by the Directors' Fund

Summary of Meeting:
It has become apparent that RNA plays a major, but still largely unexplored, role in the regulation of gene expression. It is becoming increasingly evident that longer forms of non-protein-coding RNAs (ncRNAs) are involved directly in regulating gene expression and epigenetic states. These long ncRNAs appear to be functioning as an endogenous RNA regulatory system, playing a major role in the epigenetic control of differentiation and development. These observations, across various model systems, strongly suggest that long ncRNAs are more intricately involved in the regulation of gene expression than previously envisioned. The goal of the Keystone Symposia meeting on Non-Coding RNAs is to highlight the similarities and differences in various model systems to better understand the role of long ncRNAs in the regulation of genomes. This is an entirely new emerging field of study that is on the forefront of modern biology. Opportunities for interdisciplinary interactions will be significantly enhanced by the concurrent meeting on Eukaryotic Transcription, which will share a plenary session with this meeting.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Mariano Alló
Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina

Debojyoti Chakraborty
Max Planck Cell Biology and Genetics, Germany

Antonio Gomez
Stanford University, USA

Tony Gutschner
German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ) Heidelberg, Germany

Jessica M. Vera
University of Colorado-Boulder, USA

Athanasios Zovoilis
University of Lethbridge, Canada

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)/National Cancer Institute (NCI) Scholarship Recipients

J. Mauro Calabrese
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA

Wenqian Hu
Mayo Clinic, USA

Chiat Koo Lim
Baylor College of Medicine, USA

Oded Rechavi
Tel Aviv University, Israel

Emily Wood
Wayne State University, USA