Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2012

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Nuclear Receptor Matrix: Reloaded (D3)

Organizer(s) Ronald M. Evans and David J. Mangelsdorf
April 15—20, 2012
Fairmont Chateau Whistler • Whistler, BC Canada
Abstract Deadline: Dec 15, 2011
Late Abstract Deadline: Jan 18, 2012
Scholarship Deadline: Dec 15, 2011
Early Registration Deadline: Feb 15, 2012

Supported by the Directors’ Fund

Summary of Meeting:
Nuclear receptors (NRs) represent a large superfamily of transcription factors that function as ligand-dependent sensors for a diverse set of fat-soluble hormones, vitamins and dietary lipids. Together, NRs govern expression of genes involved in a broad range of reproductive, developmental, metabolic and immune response programs. For this reason, NRs have been investigated for over 20 years as promising targets for drugs to treat a multitude of therapeutic indices, including cancer, diabetes, obesity, cardiovascular disease, hypertension, inflammation and cholestasis. However, despite the success of numerous NR-based therapies, there remain significant hurdles exploiting NRs to develop newer classes of therapies that achieve targeted benefits with reduced side effects. Thus, understanding the mechanisms, transcriptional targets and networks of physiologic pathways that govern NR action has become an important new strategy for evaluating the role of NRs in health and disease. This “reloaded” effort is now beginning to produce exciting new avenues of research in the field. This meeting will bring together a key group of junior and senior investigators that are exploring these new directions and provide participants with a matrix of unique possibilities for them to investigate in both academic and pharmaceutical laboratory settings.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Claudio J. Villanueva
University of California, Los Angeles, USA

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Ancillary Training Program Scholarship Recipients

Fernanda Ruiz
Baylor College of Medicine, USA

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)/National Institute on Aging (NIA) Scholarship Recipients

Sagar P. Bapat
University of California, San Francisco, USA

Jordan A. Beard
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital, USA

Seth Boudreaux
Baylor College of Medicine, USA

Sara S. Busquets Estruch
Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics, Netherlands

Christopher D. Byrne
Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland, Ireland

Thomas Q. de Aguiar Vallim
University of California, Los Angeles, USA

Chiara Degirolamo
Consorzio Mario Negri Sud, Italy

Bingning Dong
Baylor College of Medicine, USA

Lillian J. Eichner
The Salk Institute, USA

Shrikanth S. Gadad
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, USA

Rebecca Gupte
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, USA

Jun R. Huh
Harvard Medical School, USA

Samuel LaBarge
University of California, San Diego, USA

Michael T. Lam
University of California San Diego, USA

Lilia Magomedova
University of Toronto, Canada

David P. Marciano
Stanford University, USA

Antje Neeb
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

Noriaki Shimizu
, Japan

Laura A. Solt
The Scripps Research Institute, USA