Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2012

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

ApoE, Alzheimer's and Lipoprotein Biology (Q5)

Organizer(s) Joachim Herz, David M. Holtzman and Eric M. Parker
February 26—March 2, 2012
Keystone Resort • Keystone, CO USA
Abstract Deadline: Oct 26, 2011
Late Abstract Deadline: Dec 2, 2011
Scholarship Deadline: Oct 26, 2011
Early Registration Deadline: Jan 4, 2012

Sponsored by AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals, L.P., Biogen Idec and Merck & Co., Inc.

Summary of Meeting:
Apolipoprotein E4 (ApoE4) genotype is the primary risk factor for late-onset Alzheimer’s Disease. Approximately one fifth of the human population are ApoE4 carriers, yet more than 17 years after its discovery, the molecular basis by which this common allele causes neurodegeneration is still not understood. One major reason is the lack of effective communication between lipid researchers who have investigated the role of ApoE as a plasma lipid transport protein, and neuroscientists who are unfamiliar with the complex biochemistry of lipid metabolism and the cell biology of ApoE receptors. This is confounded by the methodological difficulty of studying lipid metabolism and lipoprotein transport in the brain and the paucity of pioneering work tackling this problem. Yet, the solution to one of the most pressing socioeconomic problems of our times, the looming Alzheimer’s Disease epidemic, depends on our ability to dissect and understand the molecular mechanism by which ApoE4 is causing this disease. The purpose of this highly interdisciplinary meeting on ApoE, Alzheimer’s and lipoprotein biology is to bring together a critical mass of experts with complementary expertise from these different fields, but who do not normally collaborate or attend the same conferences. In this manner, we envisage this meeting serving as the main catalyst for communication and collaboration between lipid and lipoprotein researchers, neurogeneticists, cell biologists and synaptic neurophysiologists. Opportunities for interdisciplinary interactions will be significantly enhanced by the concurrent conference on Clinical and Molecular Biology of Acute and Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathies, which will share opening keynote addresses and a fourth day of sessions with this meeting.

View Meeting Program


Boehringer Ingelheim Stiftung Scholarship Recipients

Ina Caesar
Mount Sinai Medical Center, USA

Justin Howard Trotter
University of South Florida Health, USA

National Institute on Aging (NIA) Scholarship Recipients

Viswanath Das
Palacky University, Czech Republic

Joseph B. Dube
Robarts Research Institute, Canada

Ellen S. Hubin
Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium

Catherine Marquer
Columbia University, USA

Julien Saint-Pol
Faculté Jean Perrin, France

Sophie Stukas
University of British Columbia, Canada