Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2013

Here are the related meetings in 2022:
Myeloid Cells: From Birth to Immunity and Disease (X4)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Myeloid Cells: Regulation and Inflammation (B6)

Organizer(s) Vincenzo Cerundolo, Gwendalyn J. Randolph and David M. Mosser
February 19—24, 2013
Keystone Resort • Keystone, CO USA
Abstract Deadline: Oct 18, 2012
Late Abstract Deadline: Nov 19, 2012
Scholarship Deadline: Oct 18, 2012
Early Registration Deadline: Dec 17, 2012

Sponsored by Novo Nordisk A/S

Summary of Meeting:
Recent results have shown that during inflammatory processes, myeloid cells exhibit extensive plasticity of their phenotype in response to numerous stimuli. This characteristic directly affects lymphocyte polarization and activity and is controlled by changes both at transcriptional and translational level. This previously unanticipated degree of epigenetic control of myeloid cells, which affects both innate and adaptive immune responses, is likely to impact several aspects of future studies in human immunology and to inform on immunotherapeutic strategies. This Keystone Symposia meeting will cover topical aspects of basic myeloid cell biology and their interface with clinical research, bringing together scientists and clinicians working on all the subtypes of myeloid cells in health and disease, from neutrophils and monocytes to macrophages and dendritic cells. The speakers will provide an overview of myeloid cell ontogeny, role of different myeloid cell subtypes in the modulation of innate and adaptive immunity, antigen capture and presentation, mobilization from the bone marrow and trafficking during inflammatory responses. The symposium will touch on multiple areas central to contemporary immunology and cell biology, including the interface between innate and adaptive immunity, as well as the mechanisms enforcing immunosuppression in cancer and infectious diseases.

View Meeting Program


Biogen Scholarship Recipients

Kimberly S. Williams
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA

First Time Meeting Travel Award Recipients

Caren Elizabeth Petrie Aronin
Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati, USA

Manu Omar Platt
Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Andrea Crotti
Astellas Pharma, USA

Richard N. Hanna
MedImmune, USA

Lucy H. Jones
University of Edinburgh, UK

Kavitha Subramanian
University of Cincinnati, USA