Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2014

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Emerging Cytokine Networks (J3)

Organizer(s) Daniel J. Cua, Hergen Spits and Federica Sallusto
January 17—22, 2014
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver • Vancouver, BC Canada
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Oct 8, 2013
Abstract Deadline: Oct 30, 2013
Scholarship Deadline: Oct 8, 2013
Discounted Registration Deadline: Nov 18, 2013

Sponsored by AstraZeneca, BioLegend, Inc., Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Limited and Theravance, Inc. Supported by an educational donation provided by Amgen.

Summary of Meeting:
There has been a great deal of enthusiasm in the cytokine field, with the discovery of powerful new cytokine networks that govern both T cells and innate lymphocytes (e.g., ILC, NK, gammadelta T, and iNKT cells), maintain tissue homeostasis, and promote inflammation/tissue repair during stress and injury responses. Increasing knowledge of cytokine network checkpoints has promoted the design of antibodies and inhibitors that show clinical efficacy for autoimmune disorders such as psoriasis, Crohn's disease and rheumatoid arthritis. However, there is still a wide gap between “early” basic scientific knowledge and “late” development of novel therapeutic agents. One of the goals of the meeting is to bring together scientists performing basic research on molecular and cellular mechanisms of immune cell activation and function with those working to develop this knowledge into novel therapies. It is our hope that attendees will gain a deeper understanding of how cytokines network together to maintain health, and gain an appreciation for the many potential strategies for targeting the network to create better drugs.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Michael G. Constantinides
NIAID, National Institutes of Health, USA

Julien J. Karrich
Erasmus University Medical Center, Netherlands

Christoph Wilhelm
University of Bonn, Germany

The Elkes Foundation Scholarship Recipients

Jose Ordovas-Montanes
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA