Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2012

Here are the related meetings in 2021:
Innovative Vaccine Approaches - RESCHEDULING TO VIRTUAL (Z5)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Immunological Mechanisms of Vaccination (S3)

Organizer(s) Adrian V.S. Hill, Dan H. Barouch, John T. Harty and Tania H. Watts
December 13—18, 2012
Fairmont Château Laurier • Ottawa, ON Canada
Abstract Deadline: Aug 13, 2012
Late Abstract Deadline: Sep 13, 2012
Scholarship Deadline: Aug 13, 2012
Early Registration Deadline: Oct 11, 2012

Part of the Keystone Symposia Global Health Series, supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Summary of Meeting:
Vaccines are remarkably successful in reducing morbidity and mortality from infectious diseases in both developed and developing countries. However, globally, mortality from infectious disease still exceeds 10 million deaths annually, reflecting a need for new, more effective and more deployable vaccination approaches. As many of the relatively easy vaccines have already been made, vaccinology is now tackling more difficult diseases, often caused by complex and genetically variable pathogens. A better understanding of the immunological mechanisms underpinning existing and novel vaccines is therefore required. Fortunately, research efforts to uncover new molecular and cellular techniques offer exceptional opportunities for improved vaccine design. A better understanding of the immunology of vaccination will be of value in evidence-based design of new vaccines against major global causes of mortality such as HIV, malaria and tuberculosis, and against emerging infections such as swine influenza and dengue. Advances in immunology, genomics and systems biology are beginning to offer a deeper understanding of the molecular and cellular mechanisms of host immunity, and the pivotal role played by the innate immune system in shaping the adaptive immune response. This is providing new opportunities to identify new signatures of vaccine immunogenicity and protective efficacy, which should facilitate vaccine development and guide improved vaccine design. The Keystone Symposia meeting on Immunological Mechanisms of Vaccination will bring together an interdisciplinary group of scientists in vaccinology, immunology and pathogen biology, to address recent advances in these fields and their potential for accelerating vaccine design and development.

View Meeting Program


Biogen Scholarship Recipients

Melba Marie Tejera
University of Wisconsin, Madison, USA

Biogen Idec ECITA Scholarship Recipients

Dwain K. Morris-Irvin
StemVax Therapeutics, USA

Keystone Symposia Global Health Travel Award Recipients, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation Recipients

Christoph J. Blohmke
University of Oxford, UK

Stephanie Soek Yeng Chan
Australian National University, JCSMR, Australia

Taryn L. Osmond
Malaghan Institute of Medical Research, New Zealand

Helene Perrin
INSERM U945 - Laboratory of Immunity and Infection, France

Jason M. Schenkel
Brigham and Women's Hospital, USA

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Ancillary Training Program Scholarship Recipients

Pablo Penaloza-MacMaster
Northwestern University, USA

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Jan Philipp Böttcher
University of Bonn, Germany

Achire Nathalia Mbanwi
University of Toronto, Canada

Pamela Marie Odorizzi
Vir Biotechnology, USA

Cara Skon
Genentech, Inc., USA

Keystone Symposia Global Health Travel Award Recipients, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Mohamed S. Abdel-Hakeem
Université de Montréal (University of Montreal), Canada

Julius Atashili
University of Buea, Cameroon

Oluwole Adeyemi Babatunde
University of South Carolina, USA

Atmaram H. Bandivdekar
National Institute for Research in Reproductive Health, India

Silvia B. Boscardin
University of São Paulo, Brazil

John Martin Buwembo
Uganda Virus Research Institute, Uganda

Silvia Almeida Cardoso
Universidade Federal de Viçosa, Brazil

Ayan Dey
International Vaccine Institute, South Korea

Yakhya Dieye
Ecole Supérieure Polytechnique, Senegal

Liya Wassie Dubale
Armauer Hansen Research Institute, Ethiopia

Adedayo Omotayo Faneye
College of Medicine, University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Paola Fernanda Fedatto
University of São Paulo (USP), Brazil

Kathleen Korkor Marie Glover
University of Manitoba, Manitoba Centre for Proteomics and Systems Biology, Canada

Dawit Gebreegziabiher Hagos
Mekelle University, Ethiopia

Adaobi Jennifer Iheanyi
Health Issues Prevention and Assistance Organization, Nigeria

Ayorinde Babatunde James
College of Medicine-University of Lagos, Nigeria

Isaac Kayanja
Makerere Womens Hospital, Uganda

Asif Raza Khowaja
Aga Khan University, Pakistan

Altaye Habtegiorgis Kidane
ICAP Swaziland, Swaziland

Stephen Kiggundu
International AIDS Vaccine Initiative, Uganda

Macklyn Kihembo
Medical Research Council/Uganda Virus Research Institute, Uganda

Michael Muganga Kikonyogo
Makerere University School of Medicine, Uganda

Juliana Almeida Leite
University of Campinas, Brazil

Mpala Lisulo
Tropical Gastroenterology and Nutrition Group (TROPGAN), Zambia

Angelique Kany Kany Luabeya
University of Cape Town, South Africa

Mitala Charles Lwanga
Uganda Virus Research Institute, Uganda

Adedayo Olubunmi Makinde
University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Emilio Luis Malchiodi
Facultad de Farmacia y Bioquímica, Argentina

Sandra Regina Costa Maruyama
University of São Paulo, Brazil

Chiaka Mbakwem-Aniebo
University of Port Harcourt, Nigeria

Jomkhwan Meerak
Chiangmai University, Thailand

Maria Pilar Mejias
CONICET- Academia Nacional de Medicina, Argentina

Erick M. O. Muok
KEMRI, Kenya

Shem Steven Mwebaza
Mildmay Uganda, Uganda

Ritah Faith Nakiboneka
Uganda Virus Research Institute, Uganda

Meena Narayanan
Center of Pathophysiology, Infectiology and Immunology, Austria

Jamirah Nazziwa
Uganda Virus Research Institute, Uganda

Bagrey M. Ngwira
College of Medicine, Malawi

Nanuli Ninashvili
State Medical University; NCDC, Georgia

Fatou Noho-Konteh
Medical Research Council, Fajara, Gambia

Matthew Obaineh Ojezele
Delta State University, Abraka, Nigeria

Ewa Oleszycka
Trinity Biomedical Sciences Institute, Ireland

Joseph Omololu-aso
Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria

Murtada Ahmed Osman
Preventive Medicine Directorate, Sudan

Jorge Alberto Panameno
Fundacion Salvadorena para la Inmunoinfectologia y Medicina Tropical, El Salvador

Ayodhia Pitaloka Pasaribu
Sumatera Utara University, Indonesia

Md Sahidur Rahman
James P Grant School of Public Health, BRAC University, Bangladesh

Ismail Sebina
QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute, Australia

Elichilia R. Shao
Kilimanjaro Christian Medical University College, Tanzania

Anshuman Shukla
IDS Infotech Ltd., India

Sengeziwe Sibeko
University of Oxford, UK

Zegabriel Tedla
Centers for Disease Control; Botswana, Botswana

Ishaya S. Tekki
National Veterinary Research Institute, Nigeria

Yenenesh Kelile Tekletsion
Armauer Hansen Research Institute, Ethiopia

Pratibha Thapa
Leprosy Mission Nepal, Nepal

Mala Upadhyay
Center for Cellular and Molecular Biology, India

Cintia Fiuza Marques Vadesilho
Instituto Butantan, Brazil

Phonphimon Wongthida
National Center of Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, Thailand

Surangi Gayanitha Yasawardene
University of Sri Jayewardenepura, Sri Lanka

Fang Yu
Affiliated Hospital of Guiyang Medical College, China

Qing Zhu
Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences/Peking Union Medical College, China