Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2013

Here are the related meetings in 2021:
Innate Immunity: Mechanisms and Modulation - RESCHEDULING IN PROGRESS (D1)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

The Innate Immune Response in the Pathogenesis of Infectious Disease (E1)

Organizer(s) Ricardo T. Gazzineli, Gustavo P. Amarante-Mendes, Anne O'Garra and Alan Sher
May 10—15, 2013
Centro de Artes e Convenções (UFOP) • Ouro Preto, Minas Gerais Brazil
Abstract Deadline: Jan 7, 2013
Late Abstract Deadline: Feb 4, 2013
Scholarship Deadline: Jan 7, 2013
Early Registration Deadline: Mar 5, 2013

Organized as an international collaboration and with generous support from CNPq — the National Council for Scientific and Technological Development, Brazil, and FAPEMIG — Minas Gerais State Agency for Research Development. Part of the Keystone Symposia Global Health Series, travel awards supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Summary of Meeting:
The rational development of immunological interventions that are effective for treating or preventing infectious diseases is still on its infancy. For decades, the majority of the studies on immunopathogenesis have dealt with physical damage and inflammation, primarily mediated by lymphocytes. The main focus of this Keystone Symposia meeting will be on the interface of the innate immune system and microbial pathogens and the role that it plays in protective versus deleterious immune responses and, thereby, of disease outcome. The program will promote discussions on fundamental concepts as well as new advances in the role of innate immunity in host resistance and pathogenesis of infectious diseases, with special emphasis on infections of the tropics. Investigators from different areas, such as biochemistry, cell biology, immunology, microbiology, parasitology, infectious diseases, tropical medicine and biotechnology will be included to encourage the discussion of interdisciplinary concepts and new directions for the field. This is the first of a series of Keystone Symposia meetings to be held in Brazil, and should also foster the participation of Latin American students and scientists. The close interaction of these participants with leading international experts in the field should lead to a stimulating atmosphere that we hope will promote the development of new South-North collaborations and research networks.

View Meeting Program


Biogen Idec ECITA Scholarship Recipients

Gerald Dion Griffin
Tuskegee University, USA

Early Career Investigator Travel Award Recipients

Carolina B. López Zalaquett
Washington University School of Medicine, USA

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Ancillary Training Program Scholarship Recipients

Monica Macal
Five Prime Therapeutics, Inc, USA

Jessica Queen
Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University, USA

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Alan Copenhaver
University of Pennsylvania, USA

Sterling C. Eckard
University of Washington, USA

Parisa Kalantari
Tufts University School of Medicine, USA

Rajat Madan
University of Cincinnati, USA

Katrijn Neyt
VIB, Ghent University, Belgium

Sowmya Pattabhi
University of Washington, USA

Andrea Puhar
Umeå University, Sweden

Anna Sokolovska
Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School, USA

Keystone Symposia Global Health Travel Award Recipients, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Akeem Abiodun Akindele
Ladoke Akintolola University of Technology, Nigeria

Catalina D. Alba Soto
Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina

Abena S. Amoah
Noguchi Memorial Institute for Medical Research, Ghana

Maria Pilar Aoki
National University of Cordoba, Argentina

Pablo C. Baldi
University of Buenos Aires, Argentina

Silvia Inés Cazorla
Consejo Nacional de Investigaciones Científicas y Técnicas-CONICET, Argentina

Mike Chaponda
Tropical Diseases Research Centre, Zambia

Larissa D. Cunha
Ribeirao Preto Medical School, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil

Alvaro Juan Díaz
Facultad de Quimica, Universidad de la Republica, Uruguay, Uruguay

Cristina Toscano Fonseca
René Rachou Research Institute-Fiocruz, Brazil

Leonardo Judson Galvão de Lima
Ribeirão Preto Medical School, University of São Paulo, Brazil

Deanna A. Hagge
Anandaban Hospital, USA

Kulachart Jangpatarapongsa
Faculty of Medical Technology, Mahidol University, Thailand

Rajpal Singh Kashyap
Central India Institute of Medical Sciences, India

Ahmed Zeynudin Kassim
jimma university, Ethiopia

Sunee -. Korbsrisate
Mahidol University, Thailand

Cheng-Lun Ku
Chang Gung University, Taiwan

Patricia Llanes Fernandez
Institute of Scientific Research and High Technology Services, Panama

Inke Nadia Diniyanti Lubis
London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, Indonesia

Taruna Madan
National Institute for Research in Reproductive Health, India

Susan Mugaba
MRC/UVRI and LSHTM Uganda Research Unit, Uganda

Santos Nelida Murga Gutierrez
Universidad Nacional de Trujillo, Peru

Anthonia Olufunke Oluduro
Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria

Maria Victoria Ramos
Academia Nacional de Medicina, Argentina

Maria Eugenia Rodriguez
Facultad de Ciencias Exactas, Universidad Nacional de La Plata, Argentina

Khalid Sadki
Faculty of Sciences, Morocco

Amit Saha
Kirby Institute, UNSW, Australia

Teresa Santos-Mendoza
National Institute of Respiratory Diseases-INER, Mexico

Muki Shehu Shey
University of Cape Town, South Africa

Najeeha Talat Iqbal
Aga Khan University, Pakistan

Sumaiyya G. Thawer
University of Cape Town, South Africa

Mieszko M. Wilk
Trinity Biomedical Sciences Institute, Ireland

Angelica Beate Winter Boldt
Universidade Federal do Paraná, Brazil

Yanti Yanti
Atma Jaya Catholic University, Indonesia