Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2013

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Immune Activation in HIV Infection: Basic Mechanisms and Clinical Implications (D2)

Organizer(s) Irini Sereti, Michaela Müller-Trutwin, Damian F.J. Purcell and Mauro Schechter
April 3—8, 2013
Beaver Run Resort • Breckenridge, CO USA
Abstract Deadline: Dec 3, 2012
Late Abstract Deadline: Jan 3, 2013
Scholarship Deadline: Dec 3, 2012
Early Registration Deadline: Jan 29, 2013

Sponsored by Sangamo BioSciences, Inc. Part of the Keystone Symposia Global Health Series, supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Summary of Meeting:
One major hallmark of HIV infection is chronic immune activation that promotes viral replication and drives CD4+ T cell depletion. The mechanisms leading to Immune activation are not well understood, and strategies to dampen it are urgently needed. Immune activation in HIV infection can stem from foreign antigen stimulation, including HIV, microbial products and co-infections as well as compensatory homeostatic mechanisms. Continuous immune stimulation most likely creates a permissive environment for further viral replication, while temporarily allowing successful replenishment of the T-cell pool. Type I interferon, microbial translocation, activated (but ineffective) effector T cells, dysfunctional regulatory T cells and inadequate T helper 17 cells have all been suggested to play important roles in the cycle of activation, functional exhaustion and T-cell death that leads to immunodeficiency. In treated HIV infection, chronic immune activation persists and is implicated in non-infectious clinical complications of HIV that account for most of the morbidity and mortality in patients treated with anti-retroviral therapy. The goal of the meeting will be to update the participants on the new insights of mechanisms of immune activation and its deleterious effects on HIV infection from transmission to chronic treated infection, and how this knowledge could potentially translate to treatment interventions. Our vision is to bring together basic science (even beyond HIV), immunology, virology and clinical science into each session with the hope that participants will interact and be inspired for collaborative translational projects.

View Meeting Program


National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Mathieu Angin
Institut Pasteur, France

Sibylle Bernard-Stoecklin
CEA, France

Nathan L. Bowers
University of Alabama, Birmingham, USA

Daniel Claiborne
Ragon Institute of MGH, MIT, and Harvard, USA

Diana Goode
Population Council, USA

Luca Micci
Emory University, YNPRC, USA

Lars Pache
Sanford-Burnham Medical Research Institute, USA

Clovis Steve Palmer
Burnet Institute, Australia

Soni Ramachandra Sankapal
University of Pittsburgh, USA

Office of AIDS Research, NIH Scholarship Recipients

Amy E. Baxter
University of Pennsylvania, USA

Richard M. Dunham
ViiV Healthcare, USA

Rui Pedro Galão
King's College London, UK

Irina Grishina
University of California, Davis, USA

Elizabeth A. Ihms
Johns Hopkins University, USA

Nuria Izquierdo-Useros
AIDS Research Institute Irsicaixa, Spain

Petra Mlcochova
University College London, UK

Filippos Porichis
EMD Serono - Merck KGaA, USA

Isabel Puigdomenech
Institute Pasteur, France

Rui Andre Raposo
George Washington University, USA

Jane Rasaiyaah
University College London, UK

Laura Melanie Romas
University of Manitoba, Canada

Caroline M. Royle
Imperial College, UK

Maryam Shansab
Ragon Institute of MGH, MIT, and Harvard, USA

Carey L. Shive
Case Western Reserve University, USA

Christina Thobakgale
University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa

Keystone Symposia Global Health Travel Award Recipients, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Louise Afran
University of Malawi College of Medicine, Malawi

Wbeimar Aguilar-Jiménez
Universidad de Antioquia, Colombia

Gamuchirai Bere
University of the Western Cape, South Africa

Geremew Gizaw Bororo
Jimma University, Ethiopia

Susana Mendes Fernandes
Instituto de Medicina Molecular, Portugal

Philomena Kamya
Ragon Institute of MGH, MIT and Harvard, USA

Catherine Kegakilwe Koofhethile
Harvard School of Public Health, USA

Edwin Leeansyah
Karolinska Institutet, Sweden

Jun Liu
Institute of Microbiology, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Macdonald Reuben Mahiti
Kumamoto University, Japan

Martin Montes
Universidad Peruana Cayetano Heredia, Peru

Ramona Moodley
Medical Research Council, South Africa

Yvonne Wasii Musa
Moi University, Kenya

Harriet K. Mutesi
Uganda Virus Research Institute, Uganda

Proscovia Naluyima
Makerere University Walter Reed Project, Uganda

Mekdes Meaza Niguse
Armauer Hansen Research Institute, Ethiopia

Reena Rajasuriar
University of Malaya, Malaysia

Alpana Singh
All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), India

Luana Silva Soares
University of São Paulo, Brazil

Vandana Vernekar
National Institute for Research in Reproductive Health, India