Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2013

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Positive Strand RNA Viruses (D7)

Organizer(s) Eric J. Snijder and Ralf Bartenschlager
April 28—May 3, 2013
Boston Park Plaza • Boston, MA USA
Abstract Deadline: Dec 20, 2012
Late Abstract Deadline: Jan 31, 2013
Scholarship Deadline: Dec 20, 2012
Early Registration Deadline: Feb 28, 2013

Supported by the Directors' Fund

Summary of Meeting:
Originally initiated in 1986 as a Keystone Symposia meeting, and later continued by Dr. Margo Brinton as primary organizer for more than 25 years, the triennial international symposium on Positive Strand RNA Viruses has provided an international forum for recent research on human, animal, plant, insect, and bacterial viruses with positive-strand RNA genomes. These pathogens constitute the largest group of viral agents including a large number of important human pathogens like hepatitis C virus, West Nile and dengue viruses, hepatitis A virus and poliovirus. Furthermore, the enormous variety of positive-stranded RNA viruses found in animals, and their evolutionary potential, continues to pose a threat of novel (zoonotic) infections emerging in human populations as illustrated by the emergence of the SARS coronavirus. The 2013 meeting on Positive Strand RNA Viruses, now back under the roof of Keystone Symposia, will cover both basic and applied research and provide an unparalleled platform to discuss the unique and common features of the members of this important virus group. Experienced and junior researchers will come together to discuss the latest developments in the areas of the molecular biology, pathogenesis, evolution and epidemiology of positive-stranded RNA viruses, aiming to translate these findings into novel approaches to diagnose and control infections by these agents.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Safia Deddouche
Cancer Research UK, UK

Fuguo Jiang
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center, USA

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Ancillary Training Program Scholarship Recipients

Cecilia D. Sedano
Stanford University, USA

Cesar Antonio Virgen

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Ying-Han Chen
Rutgers University, USA

You Li
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA

Christopher M. Robinson
Indiana University, USA

Rianna Vandergaast
University of Maryland, College Park, USA