Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2014

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Stem Cells and Reprogramming (Z4)

Organizer(s) Deepak Srivastava and Shinya Yamanaka
April 6—11, 2014
Resort at Squaw Creek • Olympic Valley, CA USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Dec 10, 2013
Abstract Deadline: Jan 15, 2014
Scholarship Deadline: Dec 10, 2013
Discounted Registration Deadline: Feb 6, 2014

Sponsored by California Institute for Regenerative Medicine (CIRM), Life Technologies Corporation, Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research, Sangamo BioSciences, Inc. and Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated.

Summary of Meeting:
The fields of developmental and stem cell biology have revealed complex networks that regulate fundamental cell fate decisions. Such information was leveraged first to reprogram cells to induced pluripotent stem cells, and more recently to induce cell fate transitions from one somatic cell state directly into another, without involving a pluripotent stem cell phase. This conference will focus on the mechanisms underlying cellular pluripotency, differentiation, and reprogramming. These will include the understanding of signaling, transcriptional, translational and epigenetic events regulating cell fate transitions. The utility of such cellular regulation for disease modeling and regenerative medicine for multiple organ systems will be examined. Translational efforts in academic and industry that are moving toward regenerative medicine will be highlighted, as will efforts to use stem cell biology for drug discovery and evaluating drug toxicity. The emerging intersection of human genetics and stem cell biology that will lead to more personalized medicine will be a thematic focus woven into most sessions of this conference.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Fellows/Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Travel Award

Senta Kahjamia Georgia
Saban Research Institute at CHLA, USA

Jeffrey M. Gimble Scholarship Scholarship Recipients

Siim Pauklin
Wellcome Trust - Medical Research Council Cambridge Stem Cell Institute, UK

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)/National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)/National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS) Scholarship Recipients

Enrique Antonio Armijo
University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, USA

Marina Bershteyn
University of California, San Francisco, USA

Joel W. Blanchard
The Scripps Research Institute, USA

Inbar Budniatzky
Technion- Israel Institute of Technology, Israel

Bryce W. Carey
Rockefeller University, USA

Yi-Ju Chen

A. Sophie de Boer
Harvard University, USA

Lydia Finley
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, USA

Wenze Niu
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, USA

Lauren M. Watson
University of Cape Town, South Africa

The Barrie Hesp Scholarship on behalf of Ashley Rebecca Cukier Scholarship Recipients

Bruno Di Stefano
Centre for Genomic Regulation, Spain