Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2014

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Biology of B Cell Responses (Q4)

Organizer(s) Hedda Wardemann, Michael G. McHeyzer-Williams and Michel C. Nussenzweig
February 9—14, 2014
Keystone Resort • Keystone, CO USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Oct 16, 2013
Abstract Deadline: Nov 14, 2013
Scholarship Deadline: Oct 16, 2013
Discounted Registration Deadline: Dec 10, 2013

Sponsored by BioLegend, Inc. and Celgene Corporation.

Summary of Meeting:
The requirements and processes relevant for the induction of protective B cell responses remain largely unclear, and inefficient or deregulated B cell responses are frequently associated with the development of diseases. The goal of this meeting is to deepen our understanding of the factors and mechanisms controlling and regulating B cell development, differentiation and activation under steady-state conditions and in autoimmunity, infection and B cell tumors. The specific aims are to: 1) Identify factors involved in the developmental programming and function of B cells; 2) Elucidate the mechanisms relevant for the establishment and maintenance of B cell self-tolerance; 3) Define how B cell responses are initiated and regulated; 4) Provide insight into the mechanisms and dynamics underlying germinal center responses; and 5) Establish the link between immunoglobulin gene diversification and B cell tumor development. The meeting will provide a platform for early-stage and established researchers to engage in interactive discussions on all aspects of the biology of B cell responses from B cell evolution to basic principles of B cell biology and human B cell immunology. It will thereby facilitate and booster the exchange of ideas and the initiation of collaborative research on B cells at an international level. Interactions will be fostered across disciplines. Access to the parallel meeting on “Prophylactic and Therapeutic Antibodies” will provide all attendees with the unique opportunity to engage in expanded interdisciplinary interaction with translational scientists from academia and industry.

View Meeting Program


Biogen Idec ECITA Scholarship Recipients

Kehmia Titanji
Emory University, USA

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Tyani D. Chan
Garvan Institute of Medical Research, Australia

Rebecca A. Elsner
University of Pittsburgh, USA

Seung Goo Kang
Kangwon National University, South Korea

Arantxa Pérez-García
Centro Nacional de Investigaciones Cardiovasculares, Spain

Jean-Nicolas Schickel
Adimab, LLC, USA