Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2014

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

The Ins and Outs of Viral Infection: Entry, Assembly, Exit and Spread (C6)

Organizer(s) Karla Kirkegaard, Mavis Agbandje-McKenna and Eric O. Freed
March 30—April 4, 2014
Beaver Run Resort • Breckenridge, CO USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Dec 2, 2013
Abstract Deadline: Jan 7, 2014
Scholarship Deadline: Dec 2, 2013
Discounted Registration Deadline: Jan 29, 2014

Sponsored by Astellas Pharma Inc.

Summary of Meeting:
Viruses can enter cells by mechanisms such as the classic virus-receptor interactions, cell-cell fusion and newly observed pathways that are currently being investigated. Similarly, viral exit from infected cells can follow the paradigms of cell lysis or viral budding, but new mechanisms such as unconventional secretion and exosome formation are emerging. Viruses in the process of entering or exiting cells should be especially vulnerable to antivirals because of their accessibility and because the formation of oligomeric structures that mix drug-susceptible and drug-resistant capsids can suppress the emergence of drug-resistant viruses. However, these steps are more difficult to target biochemically due to the lack of readily assayed enzymatic activity. In this meeting, we will bring together structural biologists, geneticists, cell biologists and mathematic modeling to address the mechanisms and consequences of the different modes of viral travel.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Anastasia A. Aksyuk
NIAMS, National Institutes of Health, USA

Sabrina Bossé
Université Laval, Canada

Mathieu Mateo
Mayo Clinic, USA

Angel N. Morrow
NIAID, National Institutes of Health, USA

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Ancillary Training Program Scholarship Recipients

Jeanette Criglar
Baylor College of Medicine, USA

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Yasmine Baktash
University of Chicago, USA

Garrett Berry
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA

Katharine G. Harris
University of Chicago, USA