Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2014

Here are the related meetings in 2020:
MEETING CANCELLED: HIV Pathogenesis and Cure (X6)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

HIV Pathogenesis - Virus vs. Host (X4)

Organizer(s) J. Victor Garcia-Martinez, Daria J. Hazuda and Dan R. Littman
March 9—14, 2014
Fairmont Banff Springs • Banff, AB Canada
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Nov 7, 2013
Abstract Deadline: Dec 11, 2013
Scholarship Deadline: Nov 7, 2013
Discounted Registration Deadline: Jan 10, 2014

Sponsored by Gilead Sciences, Inc. Part of the Keystone Symposia Global Health Series, supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Summary of Meeting:
This meeting is focused on the latest breakthroughs in basic and translational HIV research with an emphasis on mechanistic models. It presents a detailed tour of all the key steps of virus replication from infection to AIDS. The program seamlessly incorporates key aspects of HIV biology including: 1) Virus entry/exit into/from the cell; 2) Entry into the host; 3) Virus-host genetics and co-evolution; 4) Virus-host interactions and responses; 5) Pathogenesis; 6) Reservoirs, latency and reactivation; and 7) HIV and the microbiome at the mucosa. Strong emphasis will be given to these and other areas well represented in the abstracts submitted. Opportunities for interdisciplinary interactions will be significantly enhanced by the concurrent meeting on “HIV Vaccines: Adaptive Immunity and Beyond,” which shares opening and closing keynote addresses and two plenary sessions with this meeting.

View Meeting Program


National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Ancillary Training Program Scholarship Recipients

Alejandro Ramirez
The Scripps Research Institute, USA

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Yanhui Cai
Tulane National Primate Research Center, USA

Gianguido C. Cianci
Northwestern University, USA

Timothy E. Dudek
Ragon Institute of MGH, MIT and Harvard, USA

Zelda Euler
Ragon Institute of MGH, MIT and Harvard, USA

Carolina Garrido
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA

Ya-Chi Ho
Yale School of Medicine, USA

Jung Joo Hong
Korea Research Institute of Bioscience and Biotechnology, South Korea

Maria P. Lemos
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, USA

Mark B. Lucera
Case Western Reserve University, USA

Stephen A. Rawlings
New York University School of Medicine, USA

Adrienne E. Swanstrom
University of Pennsylvania, USA

Keystone Symposia Global Health Travel Award Recipients, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Olubusuyi Moses Adewumi
University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Hannah Ohunene Ajoge
University of the Western Cape, South Africa

Teke Apalata
Walter Sisulu University, South Africa

Olaitan Titilola Ayinde
University of Ibadan, Ibadan. Nigeria, Nigeria

Omkar Chaudhary
All India Institute of Medical Sciences, India

Thippawan Chuenchitra
Armed Forces Research Institute of Medical Sciences, Thailand

Béatrice Dambaya
Chantal Biya International Reference Centre, CBIRC, Cameroon

Emmanuel Donbraye
Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria

Nebiyu Mesfin Gedlu
University of Gondar, Ethiopia

Kathleen Korkor Marie Glover
University of Manitoba, Canada

Daniel Bugembe Lule
, Uganda

Joseph Mwangi
Kenya Medical Research Institute, Kenya

Mayibongwe Louis Mzingwane
National University of Science and Technology, Zimbabwe

Rose Nabatanzi
Makerere University College of Health Sciences, Uganda

Noor Nansubuga
Mildmay Uganda, Uganda

Sureyah Nassimbwa
Medical Research Council, Uganda

Chimere May Ohajinwa
, Nigeria

Antoinette Nwamaka Okaka
Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Nigeria

Eberechukwu Maryann Okoli
Friedrich Schiller University, Germany

Elijah Kolawole Oladipo
Adeleke University, Nigeria

Adesola Oluwafunmilayo Olalekan
College of Medicine, University of Lagos, Nigeria

Adekunle Olowe
Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Nigeria

Shatha Sultan Omar
University of Cape Town, South Africa

Oluyinka Oladele Opaleye
Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Nigeria

Anna Caridys Ramírez Suárez
Center for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, Cuba

Kavidha Reddy
Nelson R. Mandela School of Medicine, South Africa

Ikanyeng Dolly Seipone
University of Kwa-Zulu Natal, Nelson R Mandela School of Medicine, South Africa

Aniqa Shahid
Simon Fraser University, Canada