Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2014

Here are the related meetings in 2020:
Tuberculosis: Immunity and Immune Evasion (A2)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Novel Therapeutic Approaches to Tuberculosis (C7)

Organizer(s) Christopher M. Sassetti and Thomas G. Evans
March 30—April 4, 2014
Keystone Resort • Keystone, CO USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Dec 3, 2013
Abstract Deadline: Jan 7, 2014
Scholarship Deadline: Dec 3, 2013
Discounted Registration Deadline: Jan 29, 2014

Part of the Keystone Symposia Global Health Series, supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Summary of Meeting:
Despite more than a century of research, tuberculosis kills millions every year. The reasons we are unable to control this disease are well documented; the lack of an effective vaccine, inefficient chemotherapy, and an inability to predict who is at risk of disease. Traditional approaches to antibacterial and vaccine development have produced only incremental improvements in TB therapy, and have had little effect on transmission in the developing world. This symposium will explore novel strategies to treat this disease, either through direct antimicrobial interventions or the manipulation of host immunity. The sessions will explore three topical areas: • The mechanisms underlying the inflammatory response to M. tuberculosis, and novel strategies to ameliorate disease through the manipulation of this response. • New approaches to accelerate TB chemotherapy, concentrating on genetic/chemical synergies, specific targeting of persistent bacterial populations, and host-directed antimicrobial therapies. • Immunotherapy for both latent and active disease, with an emphasis on cytokine modulation and therapeutic vaccines. This symposium will assemble a diverse group of scientists specializing in immunology, bacteriology, cell biology, and therapeutic development. To ensure that insights from basic science are discussed in the context of practical therapeutic solutions, attendees will be drawn from both academic and industrial institutions. A particular emphasis will be placed on lessons gleaned from other systems, such as cancer, acute inflammation, and viral infections, which could be applied to tuberculosis. This diversity of background and approach will encourage the development of truly novel approaches to treat this devastating disease.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Yi Zhang
Institute of Medicinal Biotechnology, China

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Ancillary Training Program Scholarship Recipients

Jared J. Lindenberger
University of Toledo, USA

Corrie Maria Ortega
Seattle Biomedical Research Institute, USA

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Lorenza Favrot
University of Toledo, USA

Parul Mehrotra
International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, India

Dominique N. Price
University of New Mexico, USA

Allison Reeme
Medical College of Wisconsin, USA

Keystone Symposia Global Health Travel Award Recipients, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Samuel Ofori Addo
Noguchi Memorial Institute for Medical Research, University of Ghana, Ghana

Oludele Emmanuel Adebiyi
University College Hospital, Nigeria

Ganiyu Olatubosun Arinola
College of Medicine, University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Demissew Beyene Balcha
Armauer Hansen Research Institute, Ethiopia

Ashima Bhaskar
National Institute of Immunology, India

Aldar Bourinbaiar
Immunitor XXK, Mongolia

Dmytro Butov
Kharkiv National Medical University, Ukraine

Moloko Caroline Cholo
Medical Research Council, South Africa

Anna Kathleen Coussens
Walter and Eliza Hall Institute, Australia

Maria del Pilar Crespo-Ortiz
University of Valle, Colombia

Fatoumatta Darboe
Medical Research Council, The Gambia unit, Gambia

Martins Ochubiojo Emeje
National Institute for Pharmaceutical Research and Development, Nigeria

Olutayo Israel Falodun
University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Melanie Grobbelaar
University of Stellenbosch Faculty of Health Sciences, South Africa

Umesh D. Gupta
National Jalma Institute for Leprosy and Other Mycobacterial Diseases, India

Zahra Hasan
Aga Khan University, Pakistan

Rajpal Singh Kashyap
Central India Institute of Medical Sciences, India

Elena Anatolevna Khaylu
Armauer Hansen Research Institute, Ethiopia

Lutete Peguy Khonde
University of Cape Town, South Africa

Christopher Kintu
Makerere University School of Medicine, Uganda

Anand Kumar Maurya
All India Institute of Medical Sciences, India

Milikit Aytenew Meheret
Armauer Hansen Research Institute, Ethiopia

Saurabh Mishra
Weill Cornell Medicine, USA

Hector R. Morbidoni
Universidad Nacional de Rosario, Argentina

Stellah George Mpagama
Kilimanjaro Clinical Research Institute, Tanzania

Judith Mzyece
Institute for Medical Research and Training, Zambia

Ciara Chabelys Ordoñez
Scientific Research and High Technologies Institute INDICASAT-AIP, Panama

Nathella Pavan Kumar
National Institute for Research in Tuberculosis, India

Wendy Martin Rios
School of Medicine of Ribeirão Preto, Brazil

Carmen Alejandra Sabio y García
Institute of Experimental Medicine-CONICET, Argentina

Elena G. Salina
Bach Institute of Biochemistry RAS, Russia

Wondewosen Tsegaye Sime
St. Paul's Hospital Millennium. Medical College, Ethiopia

Patrícia Rodrigues Souza
University of Sergipe, Brazil

Elizabeth Maria Streicher
Stellenbosch University, South Africa

Sara Suliman
Brigham and Women's Hospital, USA

Samuel Sunday Taiwo
Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Nigeria

Gizachew B. Tassew
Haramaya University, Ethiopia

Leopold Tientcheu
Medical Research Council, Gambia Unit, Gambia

Fatima Vergara
Fiocruz, Brazil

Anne Wajja
Medical Research Council, Uganda Virus Research Institute, Uganda

Wegahta Tesfay Weldemichael
University of Gondar, Ethiopia

Fathiah Zakham
Hodeidah University, Yemen