Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2014

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Nuclear Receptors: Biological Networks, Genome Dynamics and Disease (A3)

Organizer(s) Kevin P. White, Donald P. McDonnell and Gordon L. Hager
January 10—15, 2014
Sagebrush Inn & Suites • Taos, NM USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Oct 3, 2013
Abstract Deadline: Oct 28, 2013
Scholarship Deadline: Oct 3, 2013
Discounted Registration Deadline: Nov 12, 2013

Supported by the Directors' Fund

Summary of Meeting:
Nuclear receptors (NRs) represent a large superfamily of transcription factors that function as ligand-dependent sensors for a diverse set of fat-soluble hormones, vitamins and dietary lipids. Together, NRs govern expression of genes involved in a broad range of reproductive, developmental, metabolic and immune response programs. For this reason, NRs have been investigated for over 20 years as promising targets for drugs to treat a multitude of therapeutic indices, including cancer, diabetes, obesity, cardiovascular disease, hypertension, inflammation and cholestasis. However, despite the success of numerous NR-based therapies, there remain significant hurdles exploiting NRs to develop newer classes of therapies that achieve targeted benefits with reduced side effects. Thus, understanding the mechanisms, transcriptional targets and networks of physiologic pathways that govern NR action has become an important new strategy for evaluating the role of NRs in health and disease. This effort is now beginning to produce exciting new avenues of research in the field. This meeting will bring together a key group of junior and senior investigators who are exploring these new directions and will provide participants with a matrix of unique possibilities for them to investigate in both academic and pharmaceutical laboratory settings.

View Meeting Program


Early Career Investigator Travel Award Recipients

Matthew Lee Ferguson
Boise State University, USA

Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Diana Cruz-Topete
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, USA

Diego M. Presman
National Institutes of Health, USA

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Ancillary Training Program Scholarship Recipients

Kristina B. Martinez
University of Chicago, USA

Chadia L. Robertson
Virginia Commonwealth University, USA

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)/National Institute on Aging (NIA) Scholarship Recipients

Subhamoy Dasgupta
Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center, USA

James Mancil Davison
Duke University, USA

Jonathan Robert Deans
University of California, Riverside, USA

Dawn Zhang Eichenfield
University of California, San Diego, USA

Jonathan F. Goodwin
Thomas Jefferson University, USA

Caiyun Grace Li
Stanford University, USA

Maria A. Sacta
Hospital for Special Surgery, USA

Christopher E. Wall
Genentech, Inc., USA