Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2014

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Parkinson's Disease: Genetics, Mechanisms and Therapeutics (Q7)

Organizer(s) Patrick A. Lewis, Thomas Gasser and Marcel P. van der Brug
March 2—7, 2014
Keystone Resort • Keystone, CO USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Nov 5, 2013
Abstract Deadline: Dec 5, 2013
Scholarship Deadline: Nov 5, 2013
Discounted Registration Deadline: Jan 8, 2014

Sponsored by Curemark, LLC

Summary of Meeting:
Our understanding of the causes of Parkinson’s disease has undergone a revolution in the last twenty years, driven by advances in cellular neuroscience and molecular genetics. Identification of rare autosomal Mendelian genes causative for Parkinsonism and recent genome wide association studies have revealed novel mechanisms that underlie neuronal death. The themes emerging from these advances, especially protein aggregation, immune response and mitochondrial dysfunction, highlight the overlap with other neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer’s. This meeting will cover our current state of knowledge of the global genetic architecture of Parkinson’s, how this is informing cellular and molecular approaches to the etiology of the disease, and the implications of these discoveries in patient diagnosis and development of novel treatments for Parkinson’s disease. In combination with the parallel meeting on Alzheimer’s disease, it will explore the commonalities between these two devastating disorders and discuss how recent advances in each field can be used to accelerate research.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Liesbeth Aerts
KU Leuven and VIB, Belgium

Lauran Reyniers
KU Leuven, Belgium

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Ancillary Training Program Scholarship Recipients

Tonya N. Taylor
University of Minnesota, USA

Antonio Joel Tito
Institute of Molecular Medicine UT-Health, USA

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) Scholarship Recipients

Jingling Liao
Indiana University School of Medicine, USA

Katerina Melachroinou
Biomedical Research Foundation of Academy of Athens, Greece

Evgeny Shlevkov
Children's Hospital Boston and Harvard Medical School, USA