Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2015

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Autoimmunity and Tolerance (B1)

Organizer(s) Jane L. Grogan, Joanne L. Viney and Gerald T. Nepom
February 3—8, 2015
Keystone Resort • Keystone, CO USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Oct 2, 2014
Abstract Deadline: Nov 4, 2014
Scholarship Deadline: Oct 2, 2014
Discounted Registration Deadline: Dec 3, 2014

Sponsored by AbbVie Inc., AstraZeneca, BioLegend, Inc., Genentech, Inc., NeoStem, Inc. and Novo Nordisk A/S

Summary of Meeting:
Understanding immune regulation in autoimmunity and tolerance is important for delivering therapies to patients with uncontrolled autoimmune disease. Therefore, the goal of this Keystone Symposia meeting is to bring together scientists and clinicians to discuss what we are learning from pre-clinical mouse models and patient studies. In this regard, the past decade has seen the translation of our fundamental understanding of the immune response into clinical studies, with some success and also some failures. These clinical outcomes, coupled with more sophisticated techniques available to interrogate the human immune response, allow us to reassess and further explore pathways that are driving autoimmune disease. In this symposium, we cover the pathways in immunity and tolerance that lead to loss of immunological control, dysregulated immune responses and chronic inflammatory disease. We cover preclinical and clinical aspects of a diverse number of autoimmune and inflammatory diseases including lupus, multiple sclerosis, inflammatory bowel disease, psoriasis, transplantation and rheumatoid arthritis. Each session is designed to include a basic research talk followed by a mechanistic talk on mouse and human and clinical translation.

View Meeting Program


Biogen Scholarship Recipients

Carlos A. Arbelaez
Amgen, USA

Genita Metzler
University of Washington, USA

Sophina Taitano
Immudex, USA

Early Career Investigator Travel Award Recipients

Gislaine A. Martins
Cedars-Sinai IBIRI, USA

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Jaya Prakash Chalise
Linköping University, Sweden

Georgina Espigol-Frigole
Hospital Clinic Barcelona, Spain

Claudia Rival
University of Virginia, USA

Iona S. Schuster
University of Western Australia, Australia

Vanja Sisirak
Columbia University, USA