Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2014

Here are the related meetings in 2020:
MEETING CANCELLED: Transforming Vaccinology (L2)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

The Modes of Action of Vaccine Adjuvants (S1)

Organizer(s) Philippa C. Marrack, Steven Reed and Robert A. Seder
October 8—13, 2014
Sheraton Seattle Hotel • Seattle, Washington USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Jun 10, 2014
Abstract Deadline: Jul 8, 2014
Scholarship Deadline: Jun 10, 2014
Discounted Registration Deadline: Aug 7, 2014

Sponsored by Pfizer Inc. Part of the Keystone Symposia Global Health Series, supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Summary of Meeting:
Globally, vaccines are the most effective medical interventions in limiting morbidity and mortality against infections. Effective vaccines are administered in a variety of formulations and include not only portions of their target but also adjuvants. Adjuvants can improve the magnitude and breadth of the immune response and immunological memory against the target and also determine the nature of the generated immune response. Almost all vaccines that are now in use include adjuvants, such as nucleic acids from the target organisms, in the case of attenuated virus vaccines, insoluble aluminum salts (alum), oil-in-water emulsions (MF-59) or formulated toll-like receptor ligands (MPL-TLR4). However, the world still lacks consistently effective vaccines against many infectious agents, tuberculosis, malaria and HIV and against cancers. Therefore much current research is devoted to identification of newer adjuvants, adjuvants that will safely induce the type of immune response that will most effectively deal with its target. In many cases the precise mode of action of the adjuvant is not known. For example the mode of action of alum, an adjuvant that has been used in vaccines since the 1930s and generates excellent antibody responses, is still inadequately understood. This conference will focus on the cell and molecular mechanisms of action of old and new adjuvants and other immunomodulatory agents and their use in various vaccines against infectious diseases and cancer.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Fellows/Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Travel Award

Cherié L. Butts
Biogen Inc, USA

Jonathan A. Deane
Genomics Institute of the Novartis Research Foundation, USA

Dwain K. Morris-Irvin
StemVax Therapeutics, USA

Early Career Investigator Travel Award Recipients

Heather P. Tarleton
Loyola Marymount University, USA

Early Career Investigator Travel Award Scholarship Recipients, funded by Sanofi

German Alexander Cortez
Genomics Institute of the Novartis Research Foundation, USA

Daniel Mendoza
Michel E. DeBakey VA Medical Center, USA

Alex Osanya
Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica Inc., USA

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Ancillary Training Program Scholarship Recipients

Jourdan K. Posner
University of Hawaii, Manoa, USA

Dionisia Marie Quiroga
Michigan State University, USA

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

James I. Andorko
University of Maryland, USA

Marie-Ève Lebel
INRS, Institut Armand Frappier Research Centre, Canada

Yongbin Mou
Nanjing Stomatological Hospital, China

David Pejoski
Commissariat à l'Energie Atomique, France

Pragya Rampuria
University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center, USA

Elizabeth A. Thompson
Karolinska Institute, Sweden

Ethan G. Thompson
Seattle Biomedical Research Institute, USA

Afshin Zariri
Intravacc, Netherlands

Keystone Symposia Global Health Travel Award Recipients, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Obakpororo Ejiro Agbagwa
University of Port Harcourt, Nigeria

Ifeoluwa Oluleke Awogbindin
University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Atmaram H. Bandivdekar
National Institute for Research in Reproductive Health, India

Mobolaji Olufunmilayo Bankole
Federal University of Agriculture, Nigeria

Olorunsola Niyi Bankole
Zoetis ALPHA, Nigeria

Blaise Florent Bikandou
Center of Infectious Pathology, Congo, Republic of the

Ivan Alejandro Bontempi
Universidad Nacional del Litoral, Argentina

Lorena M. Coria
Universidad de San Martin, Argentina

Girume Erenso Degu
Armauer Hansen Research Institute and St. Paul's Millennium Medical College, Ethiopia

Yakhya Dieye
Ecole Supérieure Polytechnique, Senegal

Laura Emilia Esteban
Universidad Nacional de Quilmes, Argentina

Ijeoma Mary-Joy Ifeorah
University of Nigeria, |Nsukka, Nigeria

Osasenaga macdonald IGHODARO
Lead City University, Nigeria

Hope Chioma Innocent-Adiele
New York University School of Medicine, USA

Shivaji K. Jadhav
Lilac Insights, India

Caroline Junqueira
Centro de Pesquisas René Rachou/ Fiocruz, Brazil

Anne Kapaata
Uganda Virus Research Institute/Medical Research Council, Uganda

Michael Muganga Kikonyogo
Uganda Virus Research Institute, Uganda

Dennison Kizito
Uganda Virus Research Institute, Uganda

Zhida Liu
Institute of Biophysics, Chinese Academy of Science, China

Natalia Munoz-Wolf
Trinity Biomedical Science Institute-Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

Kenneth Musinguzi
Infectious Diseases Research Collaboration, Uganda

Faith Elizabeth Nanyonga
University of Queensland, Australia

Wingi Manzungu Olivier
Central Hospital, Mozambique

Adewale Victor Opayele
University College Hospital, Nigeria

Gabriela Sofía Risso
Universidad de San Martin, Argentina

Carolina Salcedo Rivillas
São Paulo University, Brazil

Andres Sanchez Alberti
Universidad de Buenos Aires - CONICET, Argentina

Thaddius Ssempagala
Medical Research Council Uganda, Uganda

Birkneh Tilahun Tadesse
Hawassa University, Ethiopia

Tienrat Tangchaikeeree
Mahidol University, Thailand

Ishaya S. Tekki
National Veterinary Research Institute, Nigeria

María Virginia Tribulatti
Instituto de Investigaciones Biotecnológicas, Argentina

Phonphimon Wongthida
National Center of Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, Thailand

Fang Yu
Affiliated Hospital of Guiyang Medical College, China

Kamushaaga Member Zephyrian
MRC/UVRI and London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, Uganda