Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2015

Here are the related meetings in 2021:
Harnessing the Microbiome for Disease Prevention and Therapy (EK12)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Gut Microbiota Modulation of Host Physiology: The Search for Mechanism (C1)

Organizer(s) Fredrik Bäckhed, Ruth E. Ley and Yasmine Belkaid
March 1—6, 2015
Keystone Resort • Keystone, CO USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Nov 3, 2014
Abstract Deadline: Dec 2, 2014
Scholarship Deadline: Nov 3, 2014
Discounted Registration Deadline: Jan 5, 2015

Sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Cell Research, Nestlé Institute of Health Sciences, Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research and Theravance Biopharma

Summary of Meeting:
Over the past decade, it has become evident that the gut microbiome is an important environmental factor that affects many physiologic processes, such as cell proliferation and differentiation, behavior, immune function and metabolism. Moreover, it may contribute to a wide variety of diseases, including cancer, inflammatory diseases, metabolic diseases and responses to pathogens. This meeting will emphasize mechanistic understandings of the relationship between microbiota and host physiology, rather than simply characterize microbiota in different disease states. Speakers will address not only bacteria in the gut, but also fungi and microbiome on the skin and in the lung. The goal of the meeting is to facilitate the understanding by which mechanisms of the microbiota modulate host physiologic processes and increase our understanding of how an altered microbiota contributes to health and disease in humans. In addition, the broad representation of speakers from diverse fields, such as microbiology, immunology, physiology and infectious disease, is likely to foster new collaborations.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Vladimir E. Diaz-Ochoa
University of California, Irvine, USA

Ciara Gimblet-Ochieng
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA

Jill Hagey
University of California, Davis, USA

Dominick J. Lemas
University of Florida College of Medicine, USA

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) Scholarship Recipients

Marie-Claire Arrieta
University of Calgary, Canada

Megan T. Baldridge
Washington University School of Medicine, USA

Hiutung Chu
California Institute of Technology, USA

Joshua Denny
University of Louisville, USA

Thomas C. Fung
University of Pennsylvania, USA

Anisa S. Ismail
Princeton University, USA

Elisabeth Kernbauer
New York University School of Medicine, USA

Claire Maynard
Durham University, UK

Angela C. Poole
Cornell University, USA

Meng Wu
Washington University in St. Louis, USA