Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2015

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Mechanisms of HIV Persistence: Implications for a Cure (E1)

Organizer(s) Olivier Lambotte, Steven G. Deeks and Guido Silvestri
April 26—May 1, 2015
Boston Park Plaza • Boston, MA USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Dec 22, 2014
Abstract Deadline: Jan 28, 2015
Scholarship Deadline: Dec 22, 2014
Discounted Registration Deadline: Feb 26, 2015

Sponsored by Bristol-Myers Squibb Company, Gilead Sciences, Inc., Merck & Co., Inc. and Sangamo BioSciences, Inc. Part of the Keystone Symposia Global Health Series, supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Summary of Meeting:
Despite long-term control of HIV replication with cART, HIV persists as silenced integrated DNA in memory CD4 T cells, and possibly in other cellular reservoirs, including naïve cells and macrophages. Low-level replenishment of the reservoir via limited cycles of replication may also contribute to persistence, at least in some patients. Curing HIV infection will only occur if these barriers are reversed, or if host capacity to control HIV indefinitely is improved. A number of promising interventions which might reverse latent infection have been identified, and proof that such drugs affect HIV transcription in vivo provided in pilot clinical trials. The observation that few patients treated during primary infection durably control replication-competent HIV after interrupting therapy suggests host responses might be manipulated, leading to a functional cure. The path forward will require a detailed understanding of the mechanisms of viral latency which could lead to the identification of new drugs, and a better knowledge of the plasticity and dynamics of the main HIV cell reservoirs: CD4 T cells and macrophages. The role of the tissue microenvironment has to be underlined with the major help of non-human primate models. At this meeting, experts from both within and outside the HIV field will present findings from recent advances on immune mechanisms and therapeutic strategies which could lead to an HIV cure.

View Meeting Program


National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Mohamed Abdel-Mohsen
Wistar Institute, USA

Julie Boucau
Ragon Institute of MGH, MIT and Harvard, USA

Katherine M. Bruner
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, USA

Ernest Tafara Chivero
University of Nebraska Medical Centre, USA

Rémi Fromentin
, Canada

Maud Mavigner
Emory University, USA

Colleen S. McGary
Emory University, USA

Sara Morón-López
AIDS Research Institute - IrsiCaixa, Spain

Alexander O. Pasternak
University of Amsterdam, Netherlands

Johanna Tauriainen
Karolinska Institutet, Sweden

Selena Viganò
Ragon Institute, USA

Keystone Symposia Global Health Travel Award Recipients, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Alemseged Lencho Abdissa
Armauer Hansen Research Institute, Ethiopia

Abraham S. Alabi
Centre de Recherches de Mediclaes de Lambarene, Gabon

Bereket W. Ayele
Hawassa University, Ethiopia

Barisisia Maxwell Barine
Emmadavistic Medical and Research Laboratories, Nigeria

Oluseye O. Bolaji
Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria

Zebene Andargie Deresse
Jimma University, Armauer Hansen Research Institute, Ethiopia

Vivitri Dewi Prasasty
Catholic University of Indonesia Atmajaya, Indonesia

Ayotunde James Fasunla
University of Ibadan & University College Hospital, Nigeria

Ivana Grgic
University Hospital for Infectious Diseases, Croatia

Margaret Oluwatoyin Japhet
Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria

Tedla Mindaye Kelecha
Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia

Mahlet Birku Melese
Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia

Damalie Nakanjako
Makerere University College of Health Sciences, Uganda

Elvis Ndukong Ndzi
Chantal Biya's International Reference Center, Cameroon

Neema Negi
AIIMS, India

Timothy John Nzomo
National Public Health Laboratories, Kenya

Joseph Anejo Okopi
University of Jos, Nigeria

Rita Olowe
Ladoke Akintola University Teaching Hospital, Nigeria

Omalla Allan Olwenyi
Makerere University Walter Reed Project/ UNMC, Uganda

Anyebe Bernard Onoja
University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Ana Planinic
University Hospital for Infectious Diseases, Croatia

Milo Richard
Ministry of Health/Unit for Control of Infectious and Transmissible Disease, Haiti

Juliet Adamma Shenge
University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Ashwini Shete
National AIDS Research Institute, India

Avashna Singh
HIV Pathogenesis Programme UKZN, South Africa

Caijun Sun
Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Sutchana Tabprasit
Armed Forces Research Institute of Medical Sciences, Thailand

Uddhav Timilsina
South Asian University, India

Techalew Shimelis Woldekiros
University of New South Wales, Australia