Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2015

Here are the related meetings in 2020:
Tuberculosis: Immunity and Immune Evasion (A2)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Host Response in Tuberculosis (J3)

Organizer(s) JoAnne L. Flynn and Willem A. Hanekom
January 22—27, 2015
Santa Fe Community Convention Center • Santa Fe, NM USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Sep 29, 2014
Abstract Deadline: Oct 22, 2014
Scholarship Deadline: Sep 29, 2014
Discounted Registration Deadline: Nov 20, 2014

Part of the Keystone Symposia Global Health Series, supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Summary of Meeting:
Tuberculosis remains a major cause of morbidity and mortality globally. Control of the epidemic is hampered by limited understanding of basic processes underlying disease and protection. This symposium will focus on basic science in humans; major themes will include immune processes that have emerged as important for pathogenesis or protection. Translation of basic science advances into novel strategies to prevent and manage human tuberculosis will also be discussed. While preclinical progress will be addressed throughout the meeting, emphasis of direct relevance to human tuberculosis will be part of each presentation. The meeting will be held jointly with a Keystone Symposia meeting on “Granulomas in Infectious and Non-Infectious Diseases.” Granulomas are a pathologic hallmark of tuberculosis, so the pairing of these two meetings will enhance opportunities for interdisciplinary interactions and for learning about other granulomatous systems and providing insights into how this knowledge may be applied to our understanding of tuberculosis. The specific aims for this meeting are to: 1) Gather scientists interested in basic pathogenesis and immunologic responses in tuberculosis to present and discuss cutting-edge tuberculosis research; 2) Integrate basic and clinical research findings with a view to improving treatment and prevention of disease in humans; 3) Provide mentoring opportunities for junior scientists with senior scientists interested in tuberculosis research; and 4) Focus on gaps in knowledge about the events in natural infection, as well as vulnerability points for intervening in the infection process.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Alan Bénard
Institut de Pharmacologie et de Biologie Structurale, France

Laura E. Gleeson
Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

Ann-Kathrin Barbara Reuschl
Imperial College London, UK

Sara Suliman
Brigham and Women's Hospital, USA

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Ancillary Training Program Scholarship Recipients

Albanus Moguche
Seattle Biomed, USA

Juan I. Moliva
Vaccine Research Center, USA

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Kristin L. Griffiths
Washington University in St. Louis, USA

Ekta Lachmandas
Radboud University Medical Center, Netherlands

Yancheng Liu
Cornell University, USA

Natalja Redinger
Research Center Borstel, Germany

The Elkes Foundation Scholarship Recipients

Taylor Foreman
National Institutes of Health, USA

Keystone Symposia Global Health Travel Award Recipients, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Hezekiah K. Adesokan
University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Amanda Lee Ardain
Africa Health Research Institute, South Africa

Mohamed Ridha Barbouche
Institut Pasteur de Tunis, Tunisia

Abate Assefa Bashaw
University of Queensland Diamantina Institute, Australia

Liam T. Bell
Kwa-Zulu Natal Research Institute for TB and HIV, South Africa

Rubina Bunjun
University of Cape Town, South Africa

Olusegun Adesola Busari
Landmark University Medical Centre, Nigeria

Simeon Idowu Cadmus
University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Yogesh Chawla
National Institute of Immunology, India

Maria Isabel Colombo
IHEM-CONICET-School of Medicine-Universidad Nacional de Cuyo, Argentina

Fatoumatta Darboe
Medical Research Council, The Gambia Unit, Gambia

Makram Essafi
Institut Pasteur de Tunis, Tunisia

Simon Gwapa Kimuda
Medical Research Council/Uganda Virus Research Institute, Uganda

Angelique Kany Kany Luabeya
University of Cape Town, South Africa

Swaib Abubaker Lule
Medical Research Council/Uganda Virus Research Institute, Uganda

Amanda Nomakhosi Mabhula
KwaZulu Natal Research Institute for Tuberculosis and HIV, South Africa

Tariku Bekele Meloro
Armahuer Hansen Research Institute,AHRI, Ethiopia

Joseph F. Mendy
Medical Research Council Unit The Gambia, Gambia

Soumitra Mohanty
KIIT University, India

Santos Nelida Murga Gutierrez
Universidad Nacional de Trujillo, Peru

Munyaradzi Nyasha Musvosvi
University of Cape Town, South Africa

Shiferaw Bekele Negesso
Armauer Hansen Research Institute, Ethiopia

Shepherd Nhamoyebonde
Kwazulu Natal Research Institute of HIV and Tuberculosis, South Africa

Violet Asiko Ongaya
Kenya Medical Research Institute, Kenya

Olumuyiwa Adesina Owolabi
MRC Gambia at LSHTM, Gambia

Adam Penn-Nicholson
University of Cape Town, South Africa

Niaina Rakotosamimanana
Institut Pasteur de Madagascar, Madagascar

Khalid Sadki
Faculty of Sciences, Morocco

Oumie Secka
Medical Research Council The Gambia, Gambia

Clement L. Shiluli
Maseno University, Kenya

Najeeha Talat Iqbal
Aga Khan University, Pakistan

Emawayish Andargie Tirfie
Armauer Hansen Research Institute, Ethiopia

Bhavana Tiwari
Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology, India

Sandeep Kumar Upadhyay
Washington University St Louis, USA

Zyanya Lucia Zatarain-Barrón
National Institute for Nutrition and Medical Science, Mexico