Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2015

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Neural Control of Metabolic Physiology and Diseases (D4)

Organizer(s) Dongsheng Cai and Martin G. Myers, Jr.
April 12—17, 2015
Snowbird Resort • Snowbird, UT USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Dec 4, 2014
Abstract Deadline: Jan 13, 2015
Scholarship Deadline: Dec 4, 2014
Discounted Registration Deadline: Feb 12, 2015

Sponsored by Arena Pharmaceuticals, Inc. and Merck & Co., Inc.

Summary of Meeting:
The central nervous system, including the hypothalamus in particular, is important for the control of energy balance and metabolic homeostasis. Current research continues to generate important new understanding of the molecular, cellular, and neural mechanisms underlying this control. From a disease perspective, dysregulation of these processes appears to be crucial for the development and progression of the metabolic syndrome- including obesity, glucose intolerance/diabetes and hypertension- as well as the pathogenesis associated with aging. Recent research has begun to define and characterize the neural pathways involved in these processes. This symposium will bring together breaking research advances from both the basic science and translational realms, including new knowledge of neural circuits, plasticity and signaling, as well as insights into roles for hypothalamic/brain pathways in disease development. Also importantly, several new areas will be addressed, including state-of-art technologies for neuroscience research, adult neural stem cells, neural degeneration, microglia, aging, and related alterations of metabolic resilience.

View Meeting Program


National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Ancillary Training Program Scholarship Recipients

Arian F. Baquero
Novo Nordisk Inc., USA

Diego V. Bohórquez
Duke University Medical Center, USA

Stephanie M. Correa
University of California, San Francisco, USA

Latrice D. Faulkner
University of Michigan, USA

Stephanie Padilla
University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) Scholarship Recipients

Eglantine Balland
Monash University, Australia

Liliia Butiaeva
McGill University, Canada

Sara Carmo-Silva
University of Coimbra, Portugal

Alain J. De Solis
Max Planck Institute for Metabolism, Germany

Matthew S. Dicken
Colorado State University, USA

Alexandre Fisette
Helmholtz Zentrum München, Germany

Clemence Girardet
St. Louis University, USA

Eun Ran Kim
University of Texas Health Science Center, USA

Joan Francesc Mir Bonnin
Universitat de Barcelona, Spain

Ceren Ozek
University of Pennsylvania, USA

Kazuhito Sai
North Carolina State University, USA

Sonja C. Schriever
Helmholtz Zentrum Muenchen, Germany

Martin Valdearcos
University of California, San Francisco, USA