Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2016

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Autophagy: Molecular and Physiological Mechanisms (V1)

Organizer(s) Sharon A. Tooze, Ana Maria Cuervo and Noboru Mizushima
June 5—9, 2016
Whistler Conference Centre • Whistler, BC Canada
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Feb 4, 2016
Abstract Deadline: Mar 8, 2016
Scholarship Deadline: Feb 4, 2016
Discounted Registration Deadline: Apr 5, 2016

Sponsored by Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research

Summary of Meeting:
Autophagy, an evolutionarily conserved pathway, is required for homeostasis, growth and survival in eukaryotic cells. Deregulation of autophagy is implicated in many human diseases, and mutations in autophagy genes are known to be a direct cause of severe human disorders. There are global efforts to understand the role of autophagy in disease pathogenesis and to develop therapeutic strategies to control the autophagic response. However, the latter is hampered by the lack of biomarkers, and disease-specific, selective autophagy targets. Overcoming this barrier in development of therapeutics will require a better understanding of basic autophagy biology. This meeting will specifically address the basic molecular pathway to increase our knowledge of the genes, proteins and signaling pathways involved in autophagy. The program will assemble experts in the molecular details of the diverse autophagic pathways and therefore provide clinicians and pharmaceutical companies with information to develop new, specific targets.

View Meeting Program


Early Career Investigator Travel Award Scholarship Recipients, funded by Sanofi

Veronica A. Segarra
High Point University, USA

Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Roarke A. Kamber
Harvard University, USA

National Cancer Institute (NCI) Scholarship Recipients

Harilaos Filippakis
Harvard Medical School, USA

VĂ©ronik Lachance
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, USA

Natalia Rodriguez Muela
Harvard University, USA

Sachi Nakashima Memorial Fellowship Scholarship Scholarship Recipients

Lindsey Young
University of California, San Diego, USA