Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2016

Here are the related meetings in 2020:
MEETING CANCELLED: Mitochondrial Biochemistry in Health and Disease (Z1)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Mitochondrial Dynamics (D2)

Organizer(s) Richard J. Youle and Gia K. Voeltz
April 3—7, 2016
Sheraton Steamboat Resort • Steamboat Springs, Colorado USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Dec 2, 2015
Abstract Deadline: Jan 6, 2016
Scholarship Deadline: Dec 2, 2015
Discounted Registration Deadline: Feb 3, 2016

Sponsored by Merck & Co., Inc.

Summary of Meeting:
Although the realm of mitochondrial dynamics continues to expand as discoveries mount regarding its importance in physiology and medicine, we still do not understand why it is crucial to maintain eukaryotic cell integrity, and we are only beginning to understand the molecular mechanisms and regulation involved. This topic is attracting more and more interest and an increasing number of investigators as the critical role of mitochondrial dynamics has been found very recently to impact innate immunity, cell division and chemoresistance. This Keystone Symposia meeting will thus highlight the latest advances in diverse disciplines including neurology, aging, cancer research, autophagy, membrane morphogenesis, structural biology and bioenergetics. The program groups the best senior and junior scientists in these disciplines to break down barriers between different fields of research and promote innovation. As the most important discoveries in mitochondrial dynamics lie ahead, the interactions at this meeting should play a key role in their advance.

View Meeting Program


Burroughs Wellcome Fund ECITA Scholarship Recipients

Glenn C. Rowe
University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA

First Time Meeting Travel Award Recipients

Michael J. Coronado
Whitman College, USA

Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Justine Lebeau
The Scripps Research Institute, USA

Isabella Straub
Montreal Neurological Institute-McGill University, Canada

David A. Stroud
University of Melbourne, Australia

Darshika Tomer
Indian Institute of Science Education & Research, India

Marta Vranas
McGill University, Canada

Heather Weir
Harvard T. H. Chan School of Public Health, USA

The Elkes Foundation Scholarship Recipients

Alyssa Litwiller
University of Utah, USA

Margaret Maes
Institute of Science and Technology Austria, Austria