Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2016

Here are the related meetings in 2020:
Tuberculosis: Immunity and Immune Evasion (A2)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Tuberculosis Co-Morbidities and Immunopathogenesis (B6)

Organizer(s) Hardy Kornfeld, Sarah M. Fortune and Thomas R. Hawn
February 28—March 3, 2016
Keystone Resort • Keystone, CO USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Oct 29, 2015
Abstract Deadline: Dec 1, 2015
Scholarship Deadline: Oct 29, 2015
Discounted Registration Deadline: Jan 5, 2016

Part of the Keystone Symposia Global Health Series, supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Summary of Meeting:
Tuberculosis remains one of the most significant infectious disease threats to global health despite the availability of effective antimicrobials for more than 50 years. The focus of this Keystone Symposia meeting is on co-morbidities that are major driving factors in the TB pandemic and that may cause informative perturbations of immunity. This symposium explores metabolic disorders, environmental exposures, co-infections, age and genetic variants that influence host-pathogen interactions in TB. Plenary sessions will combine rather than separate topics focused on the host and the pathogen, and perspectives from laboratory and field studies. Speakers are encouraged to challenge existing dogma and offer new paradigms as a basis for more effective approaches to TB prevention and treatment.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Amitesh Anand
CSIR-Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology, India

Neetika Jaisinghani

Juan I. Moliva
Vaccine Research Center, USA

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Claire Dodd
Ohio State University, USA

Taylor Foreman
National Institutes of Health, USA

Natalia Roberta Roque
Oswaldo Cruz Foundation - Fiocruz, Brazil

Keystone Symposia Global Health Travel Award Recipients, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Samuel Ofori Addo
Noguchi Memorial Institute for Medical Research, University of Ghana, Ghana

Akeem Abiodun Akindele
Ladoke Akintolola University of Technology, Nigeria

Wondale Mekonnen Amare
Armauer Hansen Research Institute, Ethiopia

Abimbola O. Aro
University of South Africa, South Africa

Garima Arora
Translational Health Science and Technology Institute, India

Yared Merid Asfaw
Hawassa University, College of Medicine and Health Sciences, Ethiopia

Gemeda Abebe Ayana
Jimma University, Ethiopia

Olorunsola Niyi Bankole
Zoetis ALPHA, Nigeria

Dossegnaw Aragaw Beyene
Jimma University, Ethiopia

Asani Bhaduri
Cluster Innovation Centre, India

Kenneth Cleophace Byashalira
Kibong'oto Infectious Diseases Hospital, Tanzania

Eira Choudhary
Translational Health Science and Technology Institute, India

Ved Prakash Dwivedi
International Center for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, India

Leanie Kleynhans
Stellenbosch University, South Africa

Carine Kunsevi-Kilola
Stellenbosch University, South Africa

Denise Kviatcovsky
Instituto de Medicina Experimental, Argentina

Gina Leisching
Stellenbosch University, South Africa

Wegene Tamene Mekasha
Armauer Hansen Research Institute, Ethiopia

Cheleka Anne-Marie Mpande
University of Cape Town, South Africa

Thuong T. T. Nguyen
Oxford University Clinical Research Unit, Vietnam

Blessing Jachinma Okonko
Ebonyi State University, Nigeria

Joseph Omololu-aso
Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria

Murtada Ahmed Osman
Preventive Medicine Directorate, Sudan

Omolanke Temitope Oyedemi
University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Sladjana Pavic
General Hospital Uzice, Serbia

Anuradha Rajamanickam
National Institute for Research in Tuberculosis, India

Rahim Rajwani
Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong

Amira Refai
Institut Pasteur de Tunis, Tunisia

Rogerio Silva Rosada
School of Pharmaceutical Sciences of Ribeirão Preto / USP, Brazil

Jisuvei Clayton Salano
University of Nairobi, Kenya

Dilcia Gicela Sambrano

Carine C. Sao Emani
Stellenbosch University, South Africa

Dhiraj Kumar Singh
Texas Biomedical Research Institute, USA

Vijay Soni
National Institute of Immunology, India

Willy Ssengooba
Makerere University, Uganda

Nigatu Endalafer Teshome
Armauer Hansen Research Institute, Ethiopia

Happy Tshivhula
University of Stellenbosch, South Africa

Martha Zewdie
Armauer Hansen Research Institute, Ethiopia