Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2016

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Positive-Strand RNA Viruses (N1)

Organizer(s) Raul Andino and Peter D. Nagy
May 1—5, 2016
Hyatt Regency Austin • Austin, TX USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Jan 6, 2016
Abstract Deadline: Feb 3, 2016
Scholarship Deadline: Jan 6, 2016
Discounted Registration Deadline: Mar 2, 2016

Sponsored by Merck & Co., Inc.

Summary of Meeting:
Positive-stranded RNA viruses are significant and emerging human pathogens worldwide. Virus-host interactions and innate responses by the host are intensively studied areas, which promise novel, broad-range and durable antiviral approaches. Topics covered by the meeting include basic advances in research on viral replication structures, virus entry and virus evolution; virus-host interactions, discussed from the virus view on changing the host (including systems biology) and host responses and defense mechanisms; and emerging therapeutics. It is anticipated that rapidly emerging new concepts on virus-host interactions will help the participants to test various host factors for a large number of positive-strand RNA viruses to expand the arsenal of antiviral approaches. This meeting will bring together experts on positive-stranded RNA viruses that will facilitate the rapid progress and dissemination of new concepts in the complex field of virus-host interactions. Also, speakers who are expert with other groups of viruses will be invited to facilitate cross-talk with other areas in virology. Among the speakers will be interdisciplinary scientists who would not normally meet with this group of researchers. Virology, cell biology, genetics, evolution, macromolecular structures/assembly, systems biology and imaging will all be brought together.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Natalie D. Collins
University of Texas Medical Branch, USA

Federico Giovannoni
School of Sciences, University of Buenos Aires, Argentina

Giel P. Göertz
Wageningen University, Netherlands

Anna Shishova
Institute of Poliomyelitis and Viral Encephalitides, Russia

Mona Teppor
University of Tartu, Estonia

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Omar Paul Arias
Oklahoma State University, USA

Gonzalo Moratorio
Institut Pasteur, France

Mohsan Saeed
Rockefeller University, USA

Rong Zhang
Washington University in St. Louis, USA

The Elkes Foundation Scholarship Recipients

Rebekah Gullberg
Colorado State University, USA

Jean Ndjomou
Yale University, USA