Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2016

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Islet Biology: From Cell Birth to Death (X5)

Organizer(s) Klaus H. Kaestner, Christopher J. Rhodes and Yuval Dor
March 13—17, 2016
Keystone Resort • Keystone, CO USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Nov 12, 2015
Abstract Deadline: Dec 15, 2015
Scholarship Deadline: Nov 12, 2015
Discounted Registration Deadline: Jan 14, 2016

Sponsored by MedImmune and Novo Nordisk A/S

Summary of Meeting:
The islets of Langerhans, endocrine micro-organs within the pancreas, are at the center of multiple metabolic diseases, from hyperinsulinism to diabetes. Islets elaborate the key hormones, glucagon and insulin that control glucose homeostasis, and their dysfunction in diabetes causes severe morbidity in more than 300 million people worldwide, with associated healthcare costs in the hundreds of billions of dollars annually. This Keystone Symposia meeting covers innovative research in all aspects of islet biology, from the developmental origin of endocrine cell types in fetal life, to beta-cell failure in type 2 diabetes. The specific goals of the conference are to: 1) Present unpublished data that cover critical knowledge gaps in the field; 2) Evaluate the state of the art of novel therapeutics for diabetes, including cell replacement therapies; and 3) Provide training for young investigators in the field. New international collaborations fostered by this conference should accelerate progress in this important field of biomedical research.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Mark Perelis
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, USA

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) Scholarship Recipients

Lukas Adrian Berchtold
University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Nadejda Bozadjieva
University of Michigan, USA

Caitlin Braitsch
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, USA

Hannah Clayton
Vanderbilt University, USA

Anne Close
University of Alberta, Canada

Caitlin Collin
University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Aharon Helman
Harvard University, USA

Amelia K. Linnemann
University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA

Aida Martinez-Sanchez
Imperial College London, UK

Gemma Pearson
University of Michigan, USA

Diana E. Stanescu
University of Pennsylvania, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, USA