Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2016

Here are the related meetings in 2021:
Neurodegenerative Diseases: Genes, Mechanisms and Therapeutics (Z3)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Common Mechanisms of Neurodegeneration (Z3)

Organizer(s) Bradley T. Hyman, Adriano M. Aguzzi and Ricardo E. Dolmetsch
June 12—16, 2016
Keystone Resort • Keystone, CO USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Feb 11, 2016
Abstract Deadline: Mar 10, 2016
Scholarship Deadline: Feb 11, 2016
Discounted Registration Deadline: Apr 12, 2016

Sponsored by BioLegend, Inc., Curemark LLC, FORUM Pharmaceuticals Inc., Merck & Co., Inc., Sangamo BioSciences, Inc. and Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Limited

Summary of Meeting:
Recent advances in understanding the genetics and underlying mechanisms of neurodegenerative diseases including prion diseases, Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s, ALS and frontotemporal dementia have revealed overlaps of phenotypes, genetic risks and biological mechanisms across this spectrum of disorders. The “common mechanisms” include protein templating, glial and inflammatory mechanisms, new understanding of RNA-based toxicity and of toxicity associated with protein misfolding, and common downstream mechanisms affecting synaptic function. Moreover, because there appear to be common mechanisms at play, recent progress in therapeutic approaches targeting one of these disorders may have applicability across the whole range of disorders. This Keystone Symposia conference will enable the in-depth exploration of these various aspects of commonality across neurodegenerative disorders.

View Meeting Program


Burroughs Wellcome Fund ECITA Scholarship Recipients

Diana Laura Castillo-Carranza
Hampton University, USA

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) Scholarship Recipients

Christoph Gericke
University of Zurich, Switzerland

Jing Guo
University of Pennsylvania, USA

Soyon Hong
Boston Children's Hospital, USA

Eleanna Kara
University of Zurich, Switzerland

Esteban Luna
University of Pennsylvania, USA

William A. McEwan
MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, UK

Mai Nakamura
Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions, USA

Joshua Wheeler
University of Colorado Boulder, USA

The Elkes Foundation Scholarship Recipients

Flora Hinz
University of California, Los Angeles, USA