Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2016

Here are the related meetings in 2021:
Obesity: From Cell to Patient (EK17)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Obesity and Adipose Tissue Biology (B2)

Organizer(s) Yu-Hua Tseng, Philipp E. Scherer and Deborah Clegg
February 15—19, 2016
Fairmont Banff Springs • Banff, AB Canada
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Oct 15, 2015
Abstract Deadline: Nov 17, 2015
Scholarship Deadline: Oct 15, 2015
Discounted Registration Deadline: Dec 15, 2015

Sponsored by MedImmune and Novo Nordisk A/S

Summary of Meeting:
Obesity is a growing pandemic and a major contributor to metabolic syndrome and disorders such as type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular disease, dyslipidemia, non-alcohol fatty liver and some cancers. Excess fat mass is the main characteristic of obesity, and adipocytes are the critical players in obesity-associated metabolic disorders. This symposium will focus on recent advances in our understanding of adipocyte biology and its related pathogenesis. These scientific breakthroughs include fundamental aspects of adipocyte development, heterogeneity of fat cells and their progenitors, fuel utilization in different types of adipocytes, environmental imprinting of adipose tissue, adipose tissue remodeling, brain-adipose communication and non-adipose tissue adipocytes. This meeting aims to unite interdisciplinary researchers, from basic and translational scientists to clinicians and industrial scientists, in order to integrate and synergize the diverse body of knowledge of adipose tissue, discuss cutting-edge technologies and foster collaborative interactions. Attendees will gain an in-depth knowledge of adipocyte biology and new insight into the role of adipose tissue in obesity and its related metabolic disorders.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Christina Camell
University of Minnesota, USA

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) Scholarship Recipients

Alexander Bartelt
Ludwig-Maximilians-University, Germany

Christel Ida Jenny Björk
Karolinska Institutet, Sweden

Kathleen M. Gavin
University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus, USA

Emilio P. Mottillo
McMaster University, Canada

NIDDK - 5R13DK104611-02 Scholarship Recipients

Nathalie Boulet
INSERM, France

Cristina García Cáceres
Helmholtz Zentrum München GmbH, Germany

Ji Young Kim
University of Nebraska - Lincoln, USA

Victor J. Pai
Albert Einstein College of Medicine, USA

Andréa Livia Silva Rocha
University of Campinas, Brazil

Maria Rohm
University of Oxford, UK

Brett Shook
Yale University, USA

Stephanie E. Simonds
Monash University, Australia

Yuefeng Tang
University of Massachusetts Medical School, USA

Chih-Hao Wang
Mackay Medical College, Taiwan