Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2017

Here are the related meetings in 2020:

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

HIV Vaccines (C9)

Organizer(s) Andrew B. Ward, Penny L. Moore and Robin Shattock
March 26—30, 2017
Sheraton Steamboat Resort • Steamboat Springs, Colorado USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Nov 29, 2016
Abstract Deadline: Jan 10, 2017
Scholarship Deadline: Nov 29, 2016
Discounted Registration Deadline: Jan 24, 2017

Part of the Keystone Symposia Global Health Series, supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Summary of Meeting:
Despite great progress in preventing and treating HIV, new infections continue to plague communities around the world, and the need for an HIV vaccine is as urgent as ever. Several large cohorts of HIV-infected individuals have enabled tremendous advances over the past five years in understanding immune responses to natural HIV infection. These advances have included the isolation of broad and potent anti-HIV antibodies, defining their developmental pathways, the generation of native-like Env trimers for immunization, and high-resolution structures of the envelope glycoprotein in complex with bnAbs. By 2017, many of these discoveries will have enabled new concepts to transition into human clinical trials, including passive monoclonal antibody therapy and novel immunization approaches. These platforms, incorporating improved technology for monitoring immune responses, will drive major advances in the vaccine field. This HIV Vaccines meeting will present the latest results from human clinical studies, along with the cutting-edge basic science behind such trials to highlight approaches that may lead to an HIV vaccine, and also reveal the molecular underpinnings of B and T cell-mediated immunity.

View Meeting Program


NIAID - 1R13AI129592-01 Scholarship Recipients

Yoann Aldon
Imperial College London, UK

Anna-Janina Behrens
University of Oxford, UK

Anne-Line Coolen
Laboratoire de Biologie Tissulaire et d’Ingénierie Thérapeutique, France

Alan D. Curtis
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA

Cailin Deal
Moderna Therapeutics, USA

Adam Dingens
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, USA

Samantha Leigh Grimley
San Diego Biomedical Research Institute, USA

Alice Gutjahr
Groupe sur l'Immunité des Muqueuses et Agents Pathogènes, France

Hannah King
Henry M Jackson Foundation, USA

Dieter Mielke
Duke University, USA

David Peterhoff
University Regensburg, Germany

Murillo Silva
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

Christian W. Thorball
École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland

Alba Torrents de la Pena
Academic Medical Center Amsterdam, Netherlands

Hua Wang
NIAID, National Institutes of Health, USA

Keystone Symposia Global Health Travel Award Recipients, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Heena Aggarwal
AIIMS, India

Abdurrahman Ahmad
Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Nigeria

Oluwafemi David Ajayi
ABUAD Multi-System Hospital, Nigeria

Adeolu Oladayo Akinboro
Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Nigeria

Abere Shiferaw Alemu
Haramaya University, Ethiopia

Michael Oluyemi Babalola

Abate Assefa Bashaw
University of Queensland Diamantina Institute, Australia

Liya Wassie Dubale
Armauer Hansen Research Institute, Ethiopia

Brhanu Teka Endallew
Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia

Anne Awuor Gumbe
University of Nairobi, Kenya

Mohammad Uzzal Hossain
National Institute of Biotechnology, Bangladesh

Bartholomew Okechukwu Ibeh
National Biotechnology Development Agency, Nigeria

Vidya vijayan karuvan kandiyil
National Institute for Research in Tuberculosis, India

Paul Kato Kitandwe
MRC/UVRI and LSHTM Uganda Research Unit, Uganda

Girum Tesfaye Kiya
Jimma University, Ethiopia

Sanjeev Kumar
All India Institute of Medical Sciences, India

Fredrick Lutwama
Uganda Virus Research Institute-International AIDS Vaccine Initiative, Uganda

Tshepiso Mbangiwa
Botswana Harvard AIDS Institute Partnership, Botswana

Randy George Mungwira
Blantyre Malaria Project, Malawi

Rose Nabatanzi
Makerere University College of Health Sciences, Uganda

Ogbonnaya Ogbu
Ebonyi State University, Nigeria

Funsho J. Ogunshola
University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa

Hannah Oluwayemisi Olawumi
College of Health Sciences, University of Ilorin, Nigeria

Olaniyi Onayemi
Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria

Semaria Solomon
St. Paul’s Hospital Millennium Medical College, Ethiopia

Waidi Folorunso SULE
Osun State University, Nigeria

Marius Belmondo Tincho
University of Cape Town, South Africa

Lufina Tsirizani
University of Malawi, College of Medicine, Malawi

Nkiruka Rose Ukibe
Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Nigeria

Saheed Opeyemi Usman
APIN Public Health Initiatives, Nigeria