Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2017

Here are the related meetings in 2020:
Fibrosis and Tissue Repair: From Molecules and Mechanics to Therapeutic Approaches (Q6)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Injury, Inflammation and Fibrosis (C8)

Organizer(s) Tatiana Kisseleva, Michael Karin and Andrew M. Tager
March 26—30, 2017
Snowbird Resort • Snowbird, UT USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Nov 28, 2016
Abstract Deadline: Jan 9, 2017
Scholarship Deadline: Nov 28, 2016
Discounted Registration Deadline: Jan 23, 2017

Sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Regeneron Pharmaceuticals, Inc. and Theravance Biopharma. This activity was supported by an educational grant from Celgene Corporation.

Summary of Meeting:
Fibrosis is a common response of many organs to chronic injury and inflammation. This leads to destruction of organ architecture with loss of function. Until recently, there have been no therapies to slow the progression of fibrosis and to maintain normal organ function. Recent advances have provided new insights into the pathogenesis of fibrosis, new drug targets, and new drugs in clinical studies. This conference will bring together basic biologists and translational and clinical researchers to discuss core mechanisms underlying inflammation and fibrosis, to compare and contrast fibrotic diseases, preclinical models, the potential for regeneration and regression of fibrosis, and potential therapies. The interaction between the host genetics, the environment and the microbiome in the pathogenesis of fibrotic diseases will be addressed. Also, non-invasive methods to assess fibrosis including advanced imaging and intermediate biomarkers will be discussed. This conference will be a unique opportunity for investigators who are focused on organ-specific diseases – i.e., medical subspecialists – to participate in cross-disciplinary, multi-organ discussions in order to gain new insights into their research.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Richard Lee Gieseck III
NIAID, National Institutes of Health, USA

Kevin M. Hart
NIAID, National Institutes of Health, USA

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)/National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) Scholarship Recipients

Chih-Wei Chen
Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany

Guobao Chen
Johns Hopkins University, USA

Thomas Fabre
Pfizer, USA

Greg S. Gojanovich
University of Hawaii, USA

Emilia Gore
University of Groningen, Netherlands

Sunny Kataria
Institute for Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine, India

Jonathan Scott Kurche
University of Colorado Denver, USA

Shuang Liang
University of California, San Diego, USA

Sara Lovisa
University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, USA

Edward Marsh
Yale University, USA

Matthew L. Meizlish
Yale University, USA

Jason Seidman
University of California, San Diego, USA

Sneha Sitaraman
University of Cincinnati College of Medicine, USA

Ty D. Troutman
University of California, San Diego, USA

Iñigo Valiente-Alandi
Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center, USA

Angela Zeigler
University of Virginia, USA