Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2017

Here are the related meetings in 2020:
The Malaria Endgame: Innovation in Therapeutics, Vector Control and Public Health Tools (G1)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Malaria: From Innovation to Eradication (B5)

Organizer(s) Marcel Tanner, Sarah K. Volkman, Marcus V.G. Lacerda and Salim Abdulla
February 19—23, 2017
Speke Resort & Conference Centre • Kampala, Uganda
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Oct 19, 2016
Abstract Deadline: Nov 29, 2016
Scholarship Deadline: Oct 19, 2016
Discounted Registration Deadline: Dec 20, 2016

Organized in collaboration with MESA — Malaria Eradication Scientific Alliance. Part of the Keystone Symposia Global Health Series, supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Summary of Meeting:
The evidence base and research agenda for malaria elimination and eradication are fast-evolving. Of foremost concern is the threat of resistance of the mosquito to pyrethroid insecticides and emerging data showing multi-drug resistance in Southeast Asia. An evolving area, with much to be understood, is the epidemiology of sub-microscopic infections and how they fuel onward transmission. There is also a lot of progress; for example, in the development pipeline there are candidates for a single-dose cure that can also provide protection and block transmission, and there are novel classes of insecticides. Finally, in implementation science, there is plenty to examine, from mass drug administration of anti-malarials to re-purposing ivermectin to reduce residual transmission. This Keystone Symposia meeting examines the scientific progress being made toward the goals of eliminating and eradicating malaria, from biological challenges and discoveries, to the development of the next generation of tools, to potentially transformative strategies to eliminate malaria. The ultimate goal of the meeting is to provide a unique and needed space for the malaria community to challenge hypotheses and share emerging data and insights from the different disciplines in a retreat-like setting where scientists can network, think creatively and exchange ideas. For the sustainability needed to meet the challenge of eradicating malaria, fostering these fruitful exchanges and lasting scientific partnerships is absolutely critical.

View Meeting Program


MESA — Malaria Eradication Scientific Alliance Scholarship Recipients

Paulo Arnaldo
Instituto Nacional de Saude, Mozambique

Vito Baraka
NIMR Tanzania, Tanzania

Adilson DePina
University Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar - SénégalEarle, Cape Verde

Gordon Mayen
Lakes State Ministry of Health, South Sudan

Reagan M. Mogire
KEMRI-Wellcome Trust Programme, Kenya

Victor Irungu Mwangi
Institute of Primate Research, Kenya

Chantal Nyirakanani
University of Liege, Belgium

Nobelle I. Sakwe
Biotechnology Centre, Cameroon

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Ana Maria Fonseca
ISGLOBAL, Barcelona Institute for Global Health., Spain

Inke Nadia Diniyanti Lubis
London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, Indonesia

Godfrey W. Mayoka
Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology, Kenya

Eunice Misiani
National Department of Health, South Africa

Hamtandi Magloire Natama
Institute of Tropical Medicine, Clinical Research Unit of Nanoro, Belgium

Beatrice Achieng Ochieng
Moi University, Kenya

Itziar Ubillos
ISGlobal, Barcelona Institute for Global Health, Spain

Keystone Symposia Global Health Travel Award Recipients, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Manfred Mario Kokou Accrombessi
Centre d'étude et de Recherche sur le Paludisme Associé à la Grossesse et à, Benin

Subulade Abigail Ademola (nee Olaniyan)
University of Ibadan, Nigeria, Nigeria

Chinenye Afonne
University of Ghana, Legon, Ghana

Chinazom P. Agbo
University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Nigeria

Koffi Mensah Ahadji-Dabla
University of Lomé, Togo

Olugbenga Akinola
University of Ilorin, Nigeria

John Adeolu Alli
University College Hospital, Nigeria

Uchenna Blessing Alozieuwa
Veritas University Abuja, Nigeria

Lis Antonelli
Fiocruz, Brazil

Philip Emeka Anyanwu
University of Sunderland, UK

Protus Arrey Tarkang
Institute of Medical Research and Medicinal Plants Studies, Cameroon

Mohd Asad
International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, ICGEB, India

Shehu S. Awandu
Radboud University Medical Centre, Netherlands

Emmanuel Afolabi Bakare
Federal University Oye-Ekiti, Nigeria

Sheila Ogoma Barasa
US Army Medical Research Directorate Kenya, Kenya

Ibrahim Sebutu Bello
Obafemi Awolowo University Teaching Hospital's Complex, Nigeria

Oloyede Samuel Bolaji
Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Nigeria

Felix Abekah Botchway
University of Ghana, Ghana

Modupe Iretiola Builders
Bingham University, Nigeria

Agnes C. Cheruiyot
Walter Reed Project, Kenya

Uchechukwu Chukwuocha
Federal University of Technology, Nigeria

Bismarck Dinko
University of Health and Allied Sciences, Ghana

Titus Henry Divala
University of Malawi, College of Medicine, Malawi

Ayodele Jacob Esan
Federal Teaching Hospital, Nigeria

Mofolusho O. Falade
University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Deepika Fernando
University of Colombo, Sri Lanka

Erika Francisca Garrido
Corporación Universitaria Remington, Colombia

Ritu Gill
Centre for Biotechnology, India

Jesse N. Gitaka
Mount Kenya University, Kenya

Himanshu Gupta
ISGlobal, Barcelona Institute for Global Health, Spain

Umar Adam Katsayal
Ahmadu Bello University, Nigeria

Andreas Adutwum Kudom
University of Cape Coast, Ghana

Eliningaya J. Kweka
Tropical Pesticides Research Institute, Tanzania

Josué Costa Lima-Junior
Fundação Oswaldo Cruz, Brazil

Maxwell Gesuge Machani
Kenya Medical Research Institute, Kenya

Victoria Makuru
University of Notre Dame, USA

Gloria Graca Ernesto Matambisso
Manhica health Research Center (CISM), Mozambique

Misganaw Birhaneselassie Mengesha
Hawassa University College of Medicine and Health Sciences, Ethiopia

Hammed Oladeji Mogaji
Federal University Oye-Ekiti, Nigeria

Afsaneh Motevalli Haghi
Tehran University of Medical Sciences, Iran

Petra O. Nnamani
University of Nigeria Nsukka, Nigeria

Ishaya Haruna Nock
Ahmadu Bello University, Nigeria

Dickson Shey Nsagha
University of Buea, Cameroon

Sam Lubwama Nsobya
Makerere University, Uganda

Suci Nuralitha
Eijkman Institute for Molecular Biology, Indonesia

Daniel Olusola Ojurongbe
Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Nigeria

Babatunde Meshach Okanlawon
Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Nigeria

Luicer Anne Ingasia Olubayo
University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa

Adewole Olalubi Oluwasogo
Kwara State University, Nigeria, Nigeria

Olufunke Abiodun Oluwatoba
College of Medicine, University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Bose Etaniamhe Orimadegun
University of Ibadan, College of Medicine, Nigeria

Abisoye Sunday Oyeyemi
Niger Delta University, Nigeria

Bernice Enobong Udoh
Olabisi Onabanjo University, Nigeria

Chairat Uthaipibull
National Center for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, Thailand

Oyindamola Bidemi Yusuf
University of Ibadan, Nigeria