Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2017

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Inflammation-Driven Cancer: Mechanisms to Therapy (J7)

Organizer(s) Fiona M. Powrie, Michael Karin and Alberto Mantovani
February 5—9, 2017
Keystone Resort • Keystone, CO USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Oct 6, 2016
Abstract Deadline: Nov 3, 2016
Scholarship Deadline: Oct 6, 2016
Discounted Registration Deadline: Dec 7, 2016

Sponsored by Incyte Corporation, Merck & Co., Inc. and Roche. Part of the Keystone Symposia Global Health Series, supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Summary of Meeting:
Carcinogenesis is the result of a complex interplay of cell intrinsic and extrinsic processes that promote genomic instability, sustained proliferation, resistance to apoptosis, reprogramming and reorganization of the stromal environment. An immune cell infiltrate is a characteristic feature of many tumors, and it is increasingly appreciated that immunity and inflammation are key determinants of tumor development and progression. This meeting will consider the molecular and environmental factors that shape the extensive cross-talk between immune, stromal and cancer cells in the tumor microenvironment. Positioned at the interface of cancer cell signaling, stem cells, inflammatory pathways and microbial drivers, this meeting should provide new insights into the factors that control the balance between tumor-promoting and tumor-suppressive immunity and inflammation and how this can be applied in the prevention and treatment of cancer. The meeting will attract a multi-disciplinary group of cancer cell biologists, immunologists and inflammation biologists and will be of interest to basic and clinical scientists alike.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Ryan Kolb
University of Iowa, USA

Ankit Malik
University of Chicago, USA

Elena Tosti
Albert Einstein College of Medicine, USA

Keystone Symposia Global Health Travel Award Recipients, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Adeoti Gbemisola Adegoke
, Nigeria

Akansha Jalota
All India Institute of Medical Sciences, AIIMS, India

Mohammad Faisal Syed
Aligarh Muslim University, India