Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2017

Here are the related meetings in 2021:
The Microbiome: From Mother to Child (EK11)
Harnessing the Microbiome for Disease Prevention and Therapy (EK12)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Microbiome in Health and Disease (J8)

Organizer(s) Julie A. Segre, Ramnik Xavier and William Michael Dunne
February 5—9, 2017
Keystone Resort • Keystone, CO USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Oct 6, 2016
Abstract Deadline: Nov 3, 2016
Scholarship Deadline: Oct 6, 2016
Discounted Registration Deadline: Dec 7, 2016

Sponsored by Intercept Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Merck & Co., Inc. and Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research. Part of the Keystone Symposia Global Health Series, supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Summary of Meeting:
This Keystone Symposia meeting brings together experts in clinical medicine, clinical microbiology, microbial genomics, and bacterial genetics to explore how both strain variation and underlying microbial community determine health and disease. Genomic advances provide higher-level resolution to both pathogen and host genetic determinants. This meeting aims to explore how monitoring and potentially altering the microbial community may modulate and predict disease risk.

View Meeting Program


Biogen ECITA Scholarship Recipients

Yava L. Jones-Hall
Texas A&M University, USA

Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Francesco Beghini
University of Trento, Italy

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Renuka Nayak
University of California, San Francisco, USA

David T. Riglar
Harvard Medical School, USA

Caitlin N. Spaulding
Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, USA

Keystone Symposia Global Health Travel Award Recipients, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Funmilola Abidemi Ayeni
University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Lamech Malagho Mwapagha
Namibia University of Science and Technology, Namibia

Festus Abiose Olajubu
Adekunle Ajasin University, Nigeria

Andrey Santos
State University of Campinas, Brazil

Diana E. Waturangi
Atma Jaya Catholic University, Indonesia