Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2017

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

TGF-ß in Immunity, Inflammation and Cancer (A3)

Organizer(s) Wanjun Chen, Joanne E. Konkel and Richard A. Flavell
January 9—13, 2017
Sagebrush Inn & Suites • Taos, NM USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Sep 20, 2016
Abstract Deadline: Oct 11, 2016
Scholarship Deadline: Sep 20, 2016
Discounted Registration Deadline: Nov 10, 2016

Sponsored by BioLegend, Inc., EMD Serono Research and Development Institute, Inc. and Regeneron Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

Summary of Meeting:
TGF-beta is a key regulator of immune responses, inflammation and cancer. In addition to the well-established effects of TGF-beta on CD4+ T cell differentiation and reprogramming, TGF-beta also plays critical roles in other immune cells. Furthermore, TGF-beta has been implicated in the regulation of the interactions among immune cells, microbiota and epithelial cells. In addition to safeguarding immune homeostasis and suppressing chronic inflammation and autoimmunity, TGF-beta is emerging as a potential checkpoint in anti-tumor immunity. Despite great progress in the field, key questions related to TGF-beta functions in immune responses are still largely undetermined. Therefore, it is imperative to understand the cellular and molecular mechanisms by which TGF-beta controls such diverse immune cells. Elucidation of these pathways would allow us to understand the pathogenesis of chronic inflammation, autoimmunity and cancer and aid development of therapeutic practices in experimental and ultimately clinical settings. This meeting will gather together experts in the fields of both TGF-beta signaling and immunology to discuss new findings and update the pivotal role of TGF-beta in immunity, inflammation and cancer, with the aim to lay out the critical and key questions and outline new directions.

View Meeting Program


Biogen ECITA Scholarship Recipients

Amol Anant Kulkarni
Howard University, USA

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Corinna Krump
Medical University of Graz, Austria

Vlad Senatorov
University of California, Berkeley, USA

David F. Vincent
CRUK - Beatson Institute for Cancer Research, UK

Yuanming Xu
Pfizer, USA