Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2018

Here are the related meetings in 2022:
The Human Microbiome: Ecology and Evolution (Q3)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Manipulation of the Gut Microbiota for Metabolic Health (X3)

Organizer(s) Nathalie Delzenne and Liping Zhao
March 4—8, 2018
Fairmont Banff Springs • Banff, AB Canada
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Nov 1, 2017
Abstract Deadline: Dec 1, 2017
Scholarship Deadline: Nov 1, 2017
Discounted Registration Deadline: Jan 9, 2018

Sponsored by Merck & Co., Inc. and Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Limited

Summary of Meeting:
The main objective of this Keystone Symposia conference is to evaluate the contribution of the gut microbiota to diseases characterized by alterations of host energy metabolism, and to highlight development of new therapeutic and nutritional approaches. Innovative models allow us to better elaborate the link between gut microbiota, the environment (including nutrition and xenobiotics – drugs, contaminants, additives) and host physiology, namely by focusing on specific metabolites produced by the gut microbes. As compared to previous meetings organized in the same field, additional metabolic disorders will be covered, including undernutrition and cachexia, disturbances of gut-muscle axis and cardiovascular dysfunction. Special attention will be brought to innovative tools to manipulate the gut microbiota, implicating both academic and industry research. The symposium will bring together a multidisciplinary audience to explore the vast amount of existing data (metagenomics and metabolomics dataset) that can be leveraged to elaborate novel tools to modulate the gut microbiota for host health.

View Meeting Program


National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) Scholarship Recipients

Dustin Heeney
University of California, Davis, USA

Tim Hendrikx
University of California, San Diego, USA

Jared D. Hoffman
University of Kentucky, USA

Abigail J. Johnson
University of Minnesota, USA

Caroline I. Le Roy
King's College London, UK

Jacob M. Luber
Harvard Medical School, USA

Long H. Nguyen
Massachusetts General Hospital, USA

Penny Oh
Nanyang Technlogical University, Singapore

Hao Tran
Georgia State University, USA

Hein M. Tun
University of Alberta, Canada