Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2018

Here are the related meetings in 2021:
MEETING CANCELLED: Mitochondrial Dysfunction: From Ultra-Rare Diseases to Aging (B2)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Mitochondrial Biology (Z1)

Organizer(s) Jodi Nunnari, Anu Suomalainen-Wartiovaara and Koji Okamoto
April 22—26, 2018
Westin Miyako Kyoto • Kyoto, Japan
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Dec 19, 2017
Abstract Deadline: Jan 16, 2018
Scholarship Deadline: Dec 19, 2017
Discounted Registration Deadline: Feb 22, 2018

Sponsored by Astellas Pharma Inc. and Nestlé Institute of Health Sciences

Joint Meeting: Selective Autophagy (Z2)

Summary of Meeting:
Mitochondria perform fundamental diverse functions in eukaryotic cells, including ATP production and ion and phospholipid homeostasis. They also serve as platforms to integrate signaling pathways and cellular processes, such as innate immunity and autophagy. Mitochondrial functions are tightly linked to mitochondrial form, which is established through coordinated machines that control dynamics, positioning, motility and mitochondrial DNA transmission. Contact sites between mitochondrial with diverse organelles have emerged as key and pervasive regulators of mitochondrial form and function. These contact sites, as well as metabolites, fully integrate mitochondria into the cell and organism. It is therefore not surprising that mitochondrial dysfunction has emerged as a key factor in a myriad of diseases, including neurodegenerative and metabolic disorders. This conference will provide a cutting-edge view of how mitochondrial form and function is controlled and how its myriad of functions impinge on health and disease.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Felix Boos
University of Kaiserslautern, Germany

Antonina Kruppa
University of Cambridge, Cambridge Institute for Medical Research, UK

Christoph Uwe MĂ„rtensson
University of Freiburg, Germany

Karen Ruiz
University of California, San Francisco, USA

Max-Hinderk Schuler
University of Utah, USA

Sofia Zaganelli
University of Geneva, Switzerland

Olga Zurita Rendon
University of Utah, USA

NCI - 1R13CA228548-01 Scholarship Recipients

Rajarshi Chakrabarti
Geisel School of Medicine, USA

Alban Ordureau
Harvard Medical School, USA

Yvette C. Wong
Northwestern University, USA