Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2018

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Frontiers in Islet Biology and Diabetes (B3)

Organizer(s) Matthias Hebrok, Seung K. Kim, Felicia Pagliuca and Anil Bhushan
February 4—8, 2018
Keystone Resort • Keystone, CO USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Oct 5, 2017
Abstract Deadline: Nov 7, 2017
Scholarship Deadline: Oct 5, 2017
Discounted Registration Deadline: Dec 7, 2017

Sponsored by Novo Nordisk A/S

Summary of Meeting:
Diabetes mellitus is a pandemic disease rooted in defects of multiple organs. Autoimmune destruction of pancreatic islet beta cells (type 1 diabetes) or relentless deterioration in beta cell function from excessive systemic insulin demand (type 2 diabetes) culminates in severe or lethal metabolic derangement. Inter-organ signaling has emerged as a crucial mechanism for achieving metabolic balance, including responses by peripheral insulin-target organs that, in turn, remotely regulate islet activity. This meeting will focus on crucial aspects of beta cell biology, including islet development, pancreas cellular plasticity, beta cell surrogate generation from stem cells, novel gene editing technologies, and immune-islet interactions, as well as translation of basic discoveries into novel therapeutic trials for diabetic patients. This meeting aims to encourage the presentation of novel concepts, foster useful interactions between participants from academia and industry, and accelerate interdisciplinary approaches in diabetes research.

View Meeting Program


National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) Scholarship Recipients

Rebecca Mary Callingham
Imperial College London, UK

Megan Capozzi
Duke University, USA

Fiona M. Docherty
University of Colorado Denver, USA

Sahar Keshvari
University of Queensland, Australia

Joon Ho Moon
Korea Advanced Institute of Science & Technology, South Korea

Jia Nie
University of Texas Health Science Center, USA

Zeenat Asghar Shyr
Washington University in St.Louis, USA

Thilo Speckmann
University of British Columbia, Canada

Krissie Tellez
Stanford University, USA

Emily M. Walker
Vanderbilt University, USA

Matthew Wortham
University of California, San Diego, USA

Dapeng Yang
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, USA