Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2018

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Plant Signaling: Molecular Pathways and Network Integration (A4)

Organizer(s) Ken Shirasu, Uta Paszkowski and Christian S. Hardtke
January 21—24, 2018
Granlibakken Tahoe • Tahoe City, CA USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Sep 25, 2017
Abstract Deadline: Oct 23, 2017
Scholarship Deadline: Sep 25, 2017
Discounted Registration Deadline: Nov 21, 2017

Supported by the Directors' Fund

Summary of Meeting:
Phenotypic plasticity is the quintessential characteristic of plant development and adaptation under fluctuating environments. This characteristic is the result of numerous signal sources (extra-, intra- and intercellular) being sensed, integrated and interpreted by a plethora of signaling components which are interacting in a highly coordinated manner. Recent advances in molecular biology, chemistry (i.e., chemical genetics and development of novel probes) and computational approaches (i.e., mathematical modeling and network reconstruction) have greatly facilitated the discovery of novel signaling pathways as well as providing detailed molecular mechanisms for key components of the existing signaling pathway. However, many have yet to be discovered. The conference features leaders in the plant signaling field and encapsulates the most recent advances in this field, from single molecule chemistry to large-scale network analysis, with an emphasis on research areas such as growth and development, environmental responses and biological interactions in both model and non-model plant species. Therefore, this meeting will bring together a diverse community of scientists to interact, collaborate and share novel ideas, leading to the translation of this knowledge into new applications. Ultimately, unraveling the complexity of plant signaling networks will be an important step forward in securing global food production.

View Meeting Program


National Science Foundation (NSF) Scholarship Recipients

Gayani Ekanayake
University of Missouri, USA

Peter Grones
SLU/UPSC, Sweden

William McKnight Moore
University of California, Berkeley, USA

Joanna Polko
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA

Shyam Solanki
North Dakota State University, USA

Guy Wachsman
Duke University, USA

Xu Wang
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne, Switzerland