Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2019

Here are the related meetings in 2021:
Biomolecular Condensates: Phase-Separated Organizers of Cellular Biochemistry (A2)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Biomolecular Condensates: Phase-Separated Organizers of Cellular Biochemistry (D5)

Organizer(s) Michael K. Rosen and Anthony Hyman
April 10—13, 2019
Snowbird Resort • Snowbird, UT USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Dec 13, 2018
Abstract Deadline: Jan 10, 2019
Scholarship Deadline: Dec 13, 2018
Discounted Registration Deadline: Feb 12, 2019

Supported by the Directors' Fund

Summary of Meeting:
Biomolecular condensates are cellular compartments that concentrate proteins and nucleic acids without an encapsulating membrane. They act in processes across the biological spectrum, from RNA metabolism to signaling and gene regulation. Macromolecular phase separation, akin to the separation of oil from water, has emerged over the past several years as a key organizer both of condensates, and of micron-scale cell organization in general. This conference brings together for the first time at Keystone Symposia scientists studying biomolecular condensates and macromolecular phase separation from varied perspectives and across scales of length and time. Theory, biophysics, biochemistry, cell biology and developmental biology will be joined together to address central questions in the field—how is molecular specificity in condensates achieved, how are the material properties and spatial structure of condensates controlled, how do composition and physical properties lead to emergent functions, how does aberrant formation of condensates lead to diseases such as neurodegeneration and cancer? By bringing together leading scientists from diverse areas impacted by phase separation, we hope to clarify the current state of knowledge in this exciting new field and identify important future directions.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Anna Lee
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital, UT Southwestern Medical Center, USA

Miriam Linsenmeier
ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Arpan Kumar Rai
University of Zurich, Switzerland

Liang Wang
Tsinghua University, China

Haiyang Yu
Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research, USA