Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2019

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Functional Cures and the Eradication of HIV (X8)

Organizer(s) Lynn Morris, Melanie M. Ott and Kevin V. Morris
March 24—28, 2019
Fairmont Chateau Whistler • Whistler, BC Canada
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Dec 5, 2018
Abstract Deadline: Dec 18, 2018
Scholarship Deadline: Dec 5, 2018
Discounted Registration Deadline: Jan 24, 2019

Part of the Keystone Symposia Global Health Series, supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Sponsored by Gilead Sciences, Inc.

Joint Meeting: HIV Vaccines (X7)

Summary of Meeting:
Human Immunodeficiency Virus type 1 (HIV) causes a persistent infection and results in acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS). AIDS has remained a global pandemic for over 40 years as HIV integrates into the genome of infected individuals and remains latent for years. Over the last decade, much emphasis has been centered on pathogenesis and vaccine development, but an emerging paradigm is taking place whereby targeted therapeutics are being developed to both control virus expression as well as possibly target viral infected cells for eradication. This conference for the first time brings together an interdisciplinary group of basic and applied scientists working on various aspects of HIV treatment and eradication strategies in an effort to translate our current understanding of HIV biology into meaningful therapeutics and/or eradication of HIV from infected individuals. To accomplish this goal, the conference aims to: 1) Introduce the state of the art in vaccine and neutralizing antibody strategies used to combat HIV; 2) Focus on transcriptional control and modulation of viral latency; and 3) Highlight synthetic biological approaches and genetic therapies currently being developed and clinically validated to combat HIV infection. The conference seeks to bring together an interdisciplinary mix of basic and applied scientists working on functional cures and eradication of HIV in an effort to better understand not only HIV treatment strategies but also the emerging technologies and approaches that will lead to the eventual eradication of HIV from infected individuals.

View Meeting Program


National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Sai Priya Anand
McGill University, Canada

Gursev Anmole
Simon Fraser University, Canada

Konstantinos Georgiou
University of California, San Francisco, USA

Furkan Guvenc
University of Toronto, Canada

Vera Klemm
Kirby Institute, Australia

Marion Pardons
Université de Montréal, CRCHUM, Canada

Leah Plasek
Case Western Reserve University, USA

Jérémie Prévost
Université de Montréal, Canada

Miriam Rosas-Umbert
AIDS Research Institute Irsicaixa – HIVACAT, Spain

Keystone Symposia Global Health Travel Award Recipients, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Bannet Asingura
Makerere University Walter Reed Project, Uganda

Osaretin Emmanuel Asowata
Africa Health Research Institute, South Africa

Gerald Kimani Chege
South African Medical Research Council, South Africa

Kimone Leigh Fisher
Postgraduate Area UKZN, South Africa

Roland Ibenipere Funwei
University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Sherazaan Dineo Ismail
University of Cape Town, South Africa

Frank Kato
MRC/UVRI and LSHTM Uganda Research Unit, Uganda

Pallabi Kundu
University of Nebraska, Lincoln, USA

George B. Kyei
University of Ghana, Ghana

Adedayo Olubunmi Makinde
University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Preeti Moar
Jawaharlal Nehru University, India

Mayibongwe Louis Mzingwane
National University of Science and Technology, Zimbabwe

Rose Nabatanzi
Makerere University College of Health Sciences, Uganda

Proscovia Naluyima
Makerere University Walter Reed Project, Uganda

Mikias Negash
Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia

Augusta Chinyere Nsonwu-Anyanwu
University of Calabar, Nigeria, Nigeria

Adesola Oluwafunmilayo Olalekan
College of Medicine, University of Lagos, Nigeria

Virender Kumar Pal
Indian Institute of Science, India

Reena Rajasuriar
University of Malaya, Malaysia

Shalini Singh
Indian Institute of Science, India

Nicholas Ekow Thomford
University of Cape Coast, Ghana