Keystone Symposia

This meeting took place in 2019

Here are the related meetings in 2021:
Next Generation HIV Vaccines & Therapies (B4)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

HIV Vaccines (X7)

Organizer(s) Nicole A. Doria-Rose, Thumbi Ndung'u and Gunilla Karlsson Hedestam
March 24—28, 2019
Fairmont Chateau Whistler • Whistler, BC Canada
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Dec 5, 2018
Abstract Deadline: Dec 18, 2018
Scholarship Deadline: Dec 5, 2018
Discounted Registration Deadline: Jan 24, 2019

Part of the Keystone Symposia Global Health Series, supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Summary of Meeting:
Despite dramatic progress in prevention and treatment of HIV, the pandemic continues, and two million people are newly infected each year. Thus, the need for a preventive vaccine for HIV is as urgent as ever. Intensive research in basic immunology and virology as well as empirical clinical trial data continues to yield insights that inform vaccine efforts. The 2019 HIV Vaccines conference presents the latest results from human clinical studies of candidate vaccines as well as the use of monoclonal antibodies for prevention; novel HIV neutralizing antibodies and their developmental pathways; T cell functions in killing and B cell help; structural insights and immunogen design; and the intersection of research for HIV eradication/cure with research on HIV vaccines, including interventions after very early antiretroviral therapy. The program also includes a session on the process of bringing candidate vaccines to clinical trial, told from the diverse perspectives of laboratory investigators, industrial production, funders and clinical researchers on the front lines.

View Meeting Program


Burroughs Wellcome Fund ECITA Scholarship Recipients

Pablo Penaloza-MacMaster
Northwestern University, USA

Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Johana Torralba
University of the Basque Country, Spain

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Andrew J. Borst
University of Washington, USA

Jean-Francois Bruxelle
Simon Fraser University, Canada

Christopher A. Cottrell
The Scripps Research Institute, USA

Adam Dingens
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, USA

Jeremiah Dallas Heredia
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA

Samuel W. Kazer
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

Liridona Maliqi
University of Zürich, Switzerland

Sebastian Ols
Karolinska Institute, Sweden

Ian Setliff
Vanderbilt Vaccine Center, USA

Samantha Marie Townsley
Walter Reed Army Institute of Research, USA

Marlies Melanie Van Haaren
Amsterdam University Medical Center, Netherlands

Pathogens and Immunity Scholarship Recipients

Sanjeev Kumar
All India Institute of Medical Sciences, India

Keystone Symposia Global Health Travel Award Recipients, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Adeleye Solomon Bakarey
University of Ibadan, Nigeria

John Martin Buwembo
Uganda Virus Research Institute, Uganda

Himanshi Chawla
All India Institute of Medical Sciences, India

Rebecca Chukwuanukwu
Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Nigeria

Chika Peter Ejikeugwu
Ebonyi State University, Nigeria

Kolawole Asimiyu Fasakin
Federal Teaching Hospital, Nigeria

Ijeoma Mary-Joy Ifeorah
University of Nigeria, |Nsukka, Nigeria

Hope Chioma Innocent-Adiele
New York University School of Medicine, USA

Shivaji K. Jadhav
Lilac Insights, India

Anita Kabarambi
MRC/UVRI and LSHTM Uganda Research Unit, Uganda

Laban Kato
Medical Research Council, Uganda Virus Research Institute, Uganda

Sakaorat Lertjuthaporn
Mahidol University, Thailand

Mitala Charles Lwanga
Uganda Virus Research Institute, Uganda

Khyati Mayank Modi
Caribbean Medical University, Curaçao

Hasifah Nanyingi
Islamic University, Uganda

Aida Sivro
Centre for the AIDS Programme of Research in South Africa, South Africa

Vinicius Guimarães Suzart
Federal University of Rio de Janeiro - UFRJ, Brazil

Teklu Kiros Woldegebriel
National Yang-Ming University, Taiwan

Kamushaaga Member Zephyrian
MRC/UVRI and London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, Uganda

Panpan Zhou
Tsinghua University, China